Why you should make this the world’s most expensive photograph

Let’s cut to the chase. Here it is:

Railing against seascape

Sealed bids will be accepted from midnight tonight. Cash only.

Why is this better than the Rhein? Well I spent a lot of time and effort taking this. I had to sit on the concrete to get down to this level and at my age that’s no mean feat. Its got a lovely splash of colour in it and everything that the Rhein image has too – flowing water, sky, pathway, you can just see some grass at the base of the blue post, left hand side half way up. You say it’s a weed? OK, but it’s awfully similar to grass. And my photo is small enough to fit in to an average home. You don’t need a living room the size of St. Peter’s Basilica in which to hang this. I’ll print it on A4 if you like.

I’ll give you the technical guff :

Leica M9 with 35mm Summilux lens wide open at F1.4, ISO 160 and 1/3000. I tweaked the luminosity a bit in PS and Bob’s your jolly old uncle. I hardly think this qualifies as digitally manipulated. It’s not a Berlusconi after all.

So there we are. I shall set the alarm for midnight in the hope the bids flood in.

10 thoughts on “Why you should make this the world’s most expensive photograph

  1. That’s a great photo. There’s a lot of history represented in those various paint colors, all peeling away as time passes. The work of man slowly degrades as in the background, utterly parallel, the world goes on without so much as blinking. Your shallow depth of field represents the intrinsic ‘nowness’ of the moment with past and future all just a mysterious blur.

    So yeah, better than the Rhein II. *shrug* (Not that I think much of that photo anyway)

  2. Rob, that’s exactly what was going through my mind when I took it – the past and future being a mysterious blur. Especially the past 😉

    Zorgor the Great, I shall do my best to Rock On, although the knees are not as supportive as they used to be.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

