Macro-nomics

Well Greece has seemingly done its bond swap and the world did not end. I think this is a story that is tagged “to be continued”. I was pretty pleased that the old adage of buy the rumour, sell the fact worked again and the markets were underwhelmed. I sold some shares early in the morning as the exchanges breathed a sigh of relief but before the airbag deflated slowly. Enough made to buy Helicon Focus and the new Lightroom 4 plus a bit for the kitty.

And after a fairly muddy trudge around this morning I came back with a few shots to share. Nothing special but ok, lah! Let’s start with this one:

Image

I call this the bishop’s crozier. As a child I remember wandering around the Herefordshire countryside with my father. We often found the ferns with these curled fronds and they reminded us of the crozier or the shepherd’s crook. Helicon Focus has processed this beautifully and in double quick time. So a big tick here after a few qualms last time. I suspect CS4 would still be going through the gears on this. Why doesn’t ADOBE just buy a company that can do this and integrate it into its platform? Apple does it. Microsoft does it. We called them capability acquisitions. Relatively modest outlay and low risk with a proven product.

Here is number two. Here I simply liked this section of the tree trunk and wanted to test my ability to cover all the points for a nice focus ‘pop’.

Image

Next a couple of shots, technically simple, – one is a single frame – both nicely handled by Lightroom.

Image

I assume these are some sort of roots but if anyone can confirm or correct I will appreciate it.

Image

And in close up:

This is tough only because the fungus (?) is white and everything else is dark. I was in the undergrowth to take this. Lightroom 4 has managed the extremes of light and dark very nicely and after exporting to CS4 all I really had to do was use the sponge tool to reduce the reflected glare in one area of the fungus and then use minimal unsharp mask and resize. And Bob, as they say, is your uncle.

That’s all for today but I hope you like these close-ups because I shall probably do more and soon the butterfly months cometh.

3 thoughts on “Macro-nomics

  1. You are back with more botanical details! Love the fern. Those do look like roots to me, those ‘air roots’ plants like strangler figs put out.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

