The cartographer butterfly

Today I did not get out in the morning. Rain again. After lunch I went to look for dragonflies at Wong Chuk Yeung but found little. I did see one female Forest chaser and several Marsh skimmers but it was sparse pickings. The dragonfly that wasn’t was the one that really annoyed me.

Standing on the small bridge where I had photographed the male Forest chaser last week I saw another flash of red and a bright red abdomen settling on a twig above my head. It did not however behave like the dragonfly so I put my binoculars up and lo and behold, a Red-nosed cicada. Now these are supposed to be common. So common in fact this is the first one I have seen. And of course as I lifted the camera into position the RNC flew up, up and away. Despite much searching I did not find it or indeed any others this afternoon. I will need to go back and have another go as I do want to photograph one.

The butterflies of last week have gone. No Blue admirals and no Spotted sawtooth. Enter, stage left, the Common mapwing and the Paris peacock. Why is it called mapwing?

Cyrestis thyodamas

 

Search me! No idea. But here are two detail shots.

 

Mapwing

 

Wing pattern

 

The beauty of this one was that it refused to settle for over half an hour but when it did finally find the sushi bar of its choice it stayed put. Not only that but it decided that the best place to chill out and lap up the sake was…….. right next to my car. I suspected for a while it was looking for a lift home but I don’t pick up hitch hikers.

Also flitting around was a splendid Paris peacock. Here are two shots of that species:

 

Papilio paris

 

Papilio paris

 

When they are flying you don’t see the yellow spangles. Mainly the electric blue flashes on the hindwing catch the attention. But the camera shows what the eye doesn’t catch. Now the book tells me these chaps have a wingspan of up to 100mm.Whereas this little chap has a wingspan of only 30mm. But dear old Chestnut Bob, if that is what it is, looks a pugnacious little hesp.

 

Chestnut Bob(by) Simpson waiting at slip for a tickle from MCC?

 

Iambrix salsala TBC

And with that I think I am all butterfly-ed out. As I was packing up a police van arrived. Good to see the local constabulary keeping an eye on the place. They didn’t bother me and I didn’t bother them. Hello officer, would you like to see my Cyrestis thyodamas?

Goodnight all.

 

9 thoughts on “The cartographer butterfly

  1. Awesome! The first one is like a painting. And i really like the second one as well. Good to hear that the local police didn’t hassle the camera toting butterfly stalker:)

  2. These are absolutely fantastic, Andrew! Man…the colors and shapes and patterns…these are most definitely some beautiful butterflies. Excellent work!

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

