The world’s best dragonfly?

This morning was one of those days when I did not think I was going to find anything much to photograph. The chaps at LNEC had been “clearing up” by cutting down and it seemed virtually all my favourite sites had been given a crew cut. The flowers were silent that had 24 hours ago sported heads buzzing with bees and been bedecked with butterflies. The angry buzzing was not the wasps I wanted to photograph but the strimmers.

I did manage a few shots but only towards the end did I find a dragonfly that simply insisted on being photographed. And well, it would have been rude not to. It had picked out a piece of bamboo cane near the sundial. And although it took off every few minutes, over a half hour period it never once failed to return to the same spot. It outlasted me I have to admit. I went home for lunch before the dragonfly had finished posing. It offered me endless different wing positions, abdomen up, abdomen horizontal, dipped etc. etc. The only thing not playing ball was the sun. It insisted on glaring at my dragonfly all the time and so sadly there was some reflection off the wings but hey ho, we can’t have everything. What I needed was a glamorous assistant to hold a sunshade but sadly Mrs. Ha had gone window shopping, not alas for windows but for her own idea of things that sparkle and shine.

Here was my final choice of shot of Miss LNEC, August 2012.

Trithemis aurora – female

I also found one rather tolerant butterfly.

Chilades pandava

Nothing flash, nothing gaudy, not too much bling…… Just a pretty little Lycaenidae. And happily out of the sun.

But my piece de resistance was what I think is another wasp although I have yet to have it confirmed that it is a Scollidae or ground wasp. Not as in your face as the odonate but something I had not photographed before. And it was so magical, I made it disappear……. just like that.

Now you see it:

Now you (almost) don’t:

Yes, the wasp buzzed off and left me again in the company only of strimmers.

And finally, another shot of our friend the potter wasp or Norman to his chums.

Delta pyriforme

The red blur in the background is a “STOP” sign but I ignored it and carried on. In Hong Kong all road signs are advisory and optional. And there’s an awful lot of people believe that.

I took it to mean “Proceed to lunch.” And I did.

Until next time…………..

 

6 thoughts on “The world’s best dragonfly?

  1. I particularly love the last one, the red stop sign adds a very nice colour palette for the BG, and the graphical nature of the insect is spectacular. Something to try is one of those collapsible reflectors, you know the ones, they can be gold, silver, or a thin opaque white. It need not be very large, but the fit in your bag and can be whipped out to hold in front of the sun.

    http://www.amazon.com/Interfit-INT230-12-Inch-Collapsible-Reflector/dp/B0024NKGZK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1345157957&sr=8-1&keywords=Collapsible+Reflector+small

  2. I never tire of dragonfly photos, Andrew, and yours is spectacular. He looks like he was sitting with his butt in the air…obolisk behavior. And, I agree with Alister about the last image….that’s a really lovely color palette and the insect does hold a lot of interest!

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

