Jeju two – market day

After the short InterLulude I return to Jeju. I realized when I reread my first post that I had not told you much about Jeju itself and as nobody complained I see no reason to backtrack. Suffice it to say that it projects itself as Korea’s answer to Hawaii. As I have never been to Aloha-Land I am unable to form a view on the justification of the comparison. It is supposedly an island paradise for honeymooners but as I highlighted in the first post, virtually every couple seemed to have children in tow and in many cases a third generation, the grandparents. So perhaps its a bit late for the honeymoon. One of the aspects of Oriental culture I enjoy and support is the veneration of the elderly. After all I am not so far off myself but I do think the West, and I confess this is a harsh generalization, gives age and the wisdom that comes with it far too little respect. The sacrifices made by our parents are manifold. My late parents were born in the 1920s, went through WWII and some dreadfully hard times. Their parents were of an age to have endured two world wars. I remember my grandmother, who died in 1970, cleaning the grate on her hands and knees and then scrubbing the front porch steps. She did not have an inside bathroom until a few years before she died and I still remember the tin bath in front of the fireplace. Not better days by any means but it should not hurt us to pay our dues to the older generations. The extended family has much to recommend it.

After our first afternoon spent idly in the hotel grounds and its surrounds we ventured out on day two. We headed for the Seogwipo 5 Day Market and then the Olle Market. These brought home to us what a wonderful gift it must be to live in an area based on agriculture. The fruit and veg were of a size, colour and quality that left Mrs. Ha gasping for breath. Even though we can still eschew supermarkets to a degree and use wet markets, they are nothing like this. Mrs. Ha would love to have markets like this near our home. Also the fish is landed at dawn, sold in the morning and eaten the same day. Nothing carries over to the following day. I am sure Jeju is self sufficient for most foodstuffs. It was also noticeable that there were many wind turbines but how much energy they provide I don’t know.

So here are some market shots. I had no flash so I was shooting at high ISO and in most cases with shallow depth of field but you should get a sense of life in the market. Some were also shot from the hip so the focus isn’t spot on but this is a blog not a Fodor’s Travel Guide.

 

 

 

 

Miss Cheerful Jeju 2012

So there we are. Today’s equivalent of Dig for Victory. And very tasty it is too. Everything with kimchi 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Jeju two – market day

  1. Overviews, persons of interest, and detail shots – nice visual storytelling, Andrew. Please don’t say ‘interLuLude’ again… 8~)

  2. My goodness. That was some market. As you wrote, the vegetables are huge and the fish look fresh. I think all those shots are sharp. Can’t find a thing wrong with them. Interesting and educational. I agree with your thoughts about the elderly since I am one. Here if you become infirm, you are thrown to the wolves (nursing home) and these places are the pits. My daughter claims she will not put me in one but….. that is yet to be seen. I am trying very hard to stay up and at-um. Hope to be lucky as both my parents. They died while still on their feet. My aim is to live to be 95. I do more than 1/2 of all my animal work and it is considerable.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

