Hop to it

I spent 3 hours or so on my local patch this morning but came away with slim pickings photographically. I have one nice shot to share and a couple of others that could have been better.

However I was pleased to see two blackbirds although I only managed a distant record shot with my SX50. There were many Olive-backed pipits, a single Grey-backed thrush, lots of Greater Necklaced Laughingthrushes and at least three Chestnut bulbuls.

I thought I had a couple of decent shots of a bee but blown up they were not sharp enough for me.

This was the best bug of the morning. Very common but quite colourful.

 

This is Bothrogonia ferruginea or Black-tipped Leafhopper.

The next one is probably a Lychee Stink bug nymph, Tessaratoma papillosa.

And finally, because it reminds me of the oak tree in the garden as a child, an acorn.

I shall try again tomorrow although I need to go further afield as the LNEC closes on a Tuesday.

9 thoughts on “Hop to it

  1. Have been enjoying all your write ups Andrew. Been reading them on my iphone so have not posted any feedback – hate using opposable thumbs to type. Love the first image in this series as well. You have really improved leaps and bounds with your macro. Shows what practice and perseverance can achieve!

    • Thanks Kaushal. That gives me a big boost. It’s still a long way from where I want to get but it’s progressing. Good to hear you are still out there.

  2. These are very good. NO com[plaints from me. Were you using the x50, leica, or what? It was not clear to me for you mentioned bird shots with the x50. I am still trying to decide what prime lens to get. Have not fully explored the x50 and don’t know if you can macro with it. These all look quite sharp but I don’t have a trained eye. These look as good as all the macros that I have seen on Flickr and there are millions of photos on flickr. Too many in fact. It’s like WordPress. I had no idea that so many bloggers are out there. Mind boggling!

    • Yvonne, these are with a Canon 5D3 and a 180mm macro lens. Quite a heavy rig mounted on a tripod. You can shoot static birds with the SX50 but anything moving quickly is hard because the autofocus is not as fast to react as a full blown DSLR. But it does track once it has locked on. A prime will always be better but there are trade offs whatever you choose.

      • Thank you. This helps a lot. Camera store guy tried to sell me a100mm macro but I was not certain how close I needed to be to a subject or how far away to use for my pet photography efforts. I have been planning to get a prime for I know that is the only way I’ll get the sharpness that I want. I thought the insects looked very good and I did not notice any noise

      • Yvonne, 100mm is fine or even a 90mm Tamron. Unless you are worried about getting so close the subject will fly. 180mm gives greater working distance for bugs. But of course 180mm weighs a lot more.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

