School’s out

Sad to say I do remember Alice Cooper releasing School’s Out and trying to explain to my perpetually bemused parents that Alice was a man. And what is more, a man who allegedly bit the head off a chicken on stage as part of his act. I never believed this and as it transpired, Alice was quite a decent chap, playing golf to a good standard (in lieu of alcoholism) and always charming when interviewed. The rebels grow old. Who would ever have believed that Pete Townshend and Mick Jagger could become quasi-‘establishment figures’. I suspect Keith Moon would not have made it, nor Brian Jones. And definitely not John Bonham. All the tracks on School’s Out were excellent, not just the eponymous title track. (Is that tautologous?)

Courtesy of Wikipedia they are:

Side one
  1. “School’s Out” (Alice Cooper, Glen Buxton, Michael Bruce, Dennis Dunaway, Neal Smith) – 3:27
  2. “Luney Tune” (Cooper, Dunaway) – 3:36
  3. “Gutter Cat Vs. the Jets” (Buxton, Dunaway, Leonard Bernstein, Stephen Sondheim) – 4:39
  4. “Street Fight” (Cooper, Buxton, Bruce, Dunaway, Smith) – 0:55
  5. “Blue Turk” (Cooper, Bruce) – 5:29
Side two
  1. “My Stars” (Cooper, Bob Ezrin) – 5:46
  2. “Public Animal #9” (Cooper, Bruce) – 3:53
  3. “Alma Mater” (Smith) – 3:39
  4. “Grande Finale” (Cooper, Buxton, Bruce, Dunaway, Bob Ezrin, Smith, Mack David, Leonard Bernstein) – 4:36/13:14

Highly recommended even today. But not for my parents, who (father and mother respectively) preferred Chopin and Glenn Miller. Surely Alice would qualify as big band?

That was not the school I was thinking of however when I typed the title. There is a school locally that has a real splash of colour to it. The trouble is, despite trying to capture it several times, I have always come away empty handed. Yesterday I had another go and after a useful critique of another of my images elsewhere, I shot the frame in 16:9 format. And it seemed to click.

The colours look over-saturated but it is supposed to have a Kodachrome 64 feel to it. It is the closes I have got to liking this view. Strangely and counter-intuitively I also felt it looked reasonable in B&W:

And finally a shot that I wanted to make work but it just wouldn’t.

At first glance it looks ok but then as you wake up and notice the bars sticking out of the right hand man’s head. The left hand man has a tree growing out of his back. And the standing figure has his head bisected by the line on the wall behind him. The camera I was using would not allow me to shoot at a wider aperture – you can’t have everything – so the DoF was too great to blur these out in a gorgeous bokeh.

But even if the shots don’t work 100% at least I have the consolation of imagining I am a teenager again listening to Alice. Happy days.

7 thoughts on “School’s out

  1. Agreed about too much dof – dang digital! – but the expressions in the final shot are priceless, and the triangular composition superb. I’m not much of a PS fan, but one could consider selecting the background and throwing it ever so lightly out of focus…

  2. The school is very pretty with all of the wonderful colors. ISomebody was thinking when this school was built or later painted.

    The B&W of the three is priceless just because of the expressions.

    I see what you are talking about and I noted the bars, the tree, posts- however if you have photo shop you can erase all of the things coming out of back of head and the one man’s back. You really can erase for there is an erasing tool and I have seen if used.

    Did you take any pics from side view with at lest 3 shots each way. Granted you would be only showing one or two me’s faces but if you could have moved maybe that would have worked. But I was not there so I have no idea if that was feasible or not.

    • Good suggestion to use PS, Yvonne but this was just a walk with the dog, taking shots opportunistically and I didn’t really feel it was good enough to invest the extra time. Perhaps I’ll give it a go if the rain keeps me indoors 🙂

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

