Flower Power

Our HK garden is a small walled area that gets little sun. It is tough to grow flowers. Shade loving plants do well. Sadly however our Jasmine is withering, we know not why.  Any advice gratefully received. The gardener says it is over-watered but last time he said it wasn’t being watered enough. And the time before that he said the roots were being eaten by a horde of worms. (Worms to the Cantonese gardener means worm, caterpillar, larvae of pretty much anything. They don’t seem to have special words for each). Our Firecracker only grows in the corner where the sun catches the wall. Pot plants flatter to deceive and the like West Ham they fade and die. We’re forever blowing bubbles……

A walk round the garden can take the best part of…….oooh, almost a minute. But this morning it took a little longer. Hot on the heels of the visit to the Lions Nature Education Centre yesterday I thought I would offer some of our garden plants. Taken with the SX50 and hand held of course. Jpegs. Et, voila!

IMG_3677

This is a rhod-azalea. (I.E. I have no idea which).

IMG_3679

I now know what this is thanks to Mr. Holmes (see previous post).

IMG_3681

This is the firecracker vine and it is indeed a cracker.

IMG_3683

This grows deep in the shade and self-propogates. Nice big clumps of the things.

IMG_3685

This must be an aster-type thingy. Pot plant from the local garden centre but we saw oodles of them in Korea. I wonder if I plant it out whether it will also self seed.

And that’s it. I have to dash to see my pal. Where would be without flowers, eh?

10 thoughts on “Flower Power

  1. All are so pretty. Gorgeous blooms and your camera made them really blossom. Jasmine- I believe that it needs a fair amount of sunlight. You must plant for what the conditions dictate. Shade plants for shade and so on. However, sometimes plants are sold in the nurseries that say one thing when actually the info is totally wrong. I don’t know if that is the situation. I’ve seen various kinds of jasmine grown here where it is hot or dry or both for a good part of the year. I grow a pinwheel jasmine in a pot that was given to me by my MD friend from India. I have never planted it in the ground for fear of it dying. The plant is very precious to me. The poor plant has been tortured from getting to dry but I knew how to revive it. (I was away from home and helper did not water it) I keep it in a plant room in the winter and the rest of the year I give it quite a bit of sun with the hottest part of the day in semi-shade. Other than my own experience I have no idea what is wrong. Have you taken some leaves/twigs to show/ consult with a nurseryman re: your problem? What species of jasmine is your plant? What are the soil conditions? Can you post a pic. I’m not an expert but I’ve been told that I “have a green thumb.” I don’t have a pretty garden because I can not afford someone to care for my plants. I utilize my pet helper when we can get some extra time. When a plant is not happy where it is growing it is sometimes best to yank it up and put something else that is well suited to the location.

  2. I can recognise rhodies when they are growing wild at Cragside/Rothbury Northumberland, but otherwise the two confuse me as well. I used to think azaleas were the smaller more delicate ones but I suspect it is not as simple as that. I did buy one in Spain (and in the UK I think) and after two sad deaths (no obits) I have since resisted the urge.

    My jasmine is rampant. I had one in a pot that died, but the next one I stuck in the walled garden and it is quite happy now. That’s a summer jasmine I’m talking about and it tends to flower from spring right through winter (still flowering now). My other jasmine is winter jasmine (this is the really rampant one), and is all over my walls, let me find a linky.

    http://wp.me/p1XwsS-80 (winter jasmine)

    http://wp.me/p1XwsS-s0 (summer and budding winter)

    http://wp.me/p1XwsS-sU (winter again)

    All the pix blow up, they are small because they were imported from my previous blog on blogger.

    So it thrives in full sun, poor soil and little water – but it has space in the walled garden. I suspect growing it in a pot is much harder to get the water balance right. I would err on the side of dryness, unlike for example hibiscus, which I regularly drown.

    I take it firecracker vine has a proper name? (Too lazy to look it up myself). We have lots of that here in Spain (or rather there in Spain as I am in Gib).

    The white one looks like anemones to me. Is it? Or do I mean narcissus? Bit difficult without the Observer Book of Flowers in front of me. (you were right about the tree sparrow in black and white, did I mention that? I checked it out last week).

    I get asters and marguerites (big daisies!) confused. We have some marguerites – margaritas here/there although I wouldn’t drink them – and they self seed like wildfire. I’m going to dig them up at some point and plant artichokes which are both edible and pretty when they flower. If your whatever-it-is will self seed you don’t need to do anything about it. Just make sure it is near some other plantpots, or stick some empty ones ie with soil/compost but no plants next to it. Or collect the seeds yourself when the flowers have finished and the seeds have dried.

    As for shade, ferrns, hostas, spider plants. I don’t know particularly about flowering ones and I don’t have any plant books with me. But I’ll have a look on return if you haven’t got some brilliant replies by then.

    • Have looked at the lovely Jasmine pics, Rough Seas, and I can confidently proclaim that ours may possibly be a Winter J. I’m not 100% sure. Will post pics idc. It is not in a pot but planted against a shaded wall. For 2.5 years it grew like wildfire, flowered beautifully. Then of the 5 / 6 pants that make up the whole wall cover, 1 died. Now another is close to expiration and a 3rd looks set to follow suit. It does not have a strong perfume but attracts insects and they attract birds. Just as planned. Now it’s all going to pot. Life isn’t fair. Bummer.

  3. Wikipedia says “AZALEAS…are flowering shrubs comprising two of the eight subgenera of the genus Rhododendron, Tsutsuji (evergreen) and Pentanthera (deciduous)….” and “Azaleas differ from rhododendrons in being generally smaller and having one blossom per stem rather than blossom clusters. They have more seeds in the fruit”…..

    So you are probably right, “Rough Seas” !

    Where’s Andrew ?

      • Indeed, who does? I have been meeting with a pal of almost 40 years standing today and a thoroughly enjoyable time it was too. I need to read all the replies but I am deeply indebted to all my Gardeners Question Time chums who have done the taxonomy research for me.

        Bask, as in shark, Rough Seas?

  4. Thesaurus
    bask
    verb
    1 I basked in the sun laze, lie, lounge, relax, sprawl, loll, wallow; sunbathe, sun oneself.
    2 she’s basking in all the glory revel in, delight in, luxuriate in, wallow in, take pleasure in, rejoice in, glory in, indulge oneself in; enjoy, relish, savor, lap up.

    All of it! Happy to shark as well though.

  5. Boy, do I wish we were doing a one minute walk around any garden right now. Your flowers are making me quite envious. I can’t be of much assistance with ids of your rhodys/azaleas. And I could be mistaken, but the last resembles a Cosmos we grow.
    At any rate, thanks for brightening a day in the depths of winter. It may be sunny and warm here today, but winter it remains and the ground is sere and barren.
    Take another walk around your garden for me. 🙂

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

