Yim Tin Tsai (part two)

Continuing yesterday’s record of images from Yim Tin Tsai, here is a shot from the hill, looking back towards the abandoned village.

Yim Tin Tsai

Yim Tin Tsai

The building at the back is the church. In the foreground are some of the derelict buildings. Below them (out of sight) are the salt pans that are being restored. A charitable trust has been set up to try and restore more of the village but funding as usual is the challenge. The HK government has little or no interest in conservation of any kind as far as I can see. I do not therefore expect to see much progress in the absence of a philanthropic intervention.

Here are more detail shots from yesterday with some processing fun thrown in.

A Bolt from the Blue (or green)

A Bolt from the Blue (or green)

Next a rework from yesterday to create an altogether more sombre mood.

Moody Chairs

Moody Chairs

A simulated daguerreotype of a window detail.

Curtains - monochrome vintage

Curtains – monochrome vintage

And the original colour frame

Curtains

Curtains

And the tea set, still sitting on the rickety table.

Tea set

Tea set

There is enough material on the island to keep a photographer occupied for days. I look forward to returning for another rummage through the treasure chest. The challenge as we approach the heat of summer will be to cope with the humidity. And the mozzies. If anybody ventures as far as Yim Tin Tsai a good mosquito repellent is essential. However, properly equipped and protected this island village is well worth a visit.

13 thoughts on “Yim Tin Tsai (part two)

    • Phil, this was a day to show someone else the island but it will soon be time to go for dragonflies, cicadas, butterflies and all sorts of bugs. I can’t wait.

  1. Really enjoying these. The window is a great example of the different effect created through colour or monochrome. The village is fascinating. Planning ‘rules’ same as Macau where all the portuguese colonial buildings seem to have been swept away. Are there any left?

    • Geoff, there are several big themes in HK today. Universal suffrage is one, pollution and planning are high on the list and poverty is probably top of the agenda. The planning rules here are complex and arcane. There are small enclaves within the country parks that are not zoned at all. Sensitive environmental areas have no buffer zones – Mai Po, a RAMSAR site, is a classic example. Old buildings are rarely afforded proper protection and it is gratifying to see how many people now are actively recording the heritage of HK before it is threatened. Even in Sai Kung, which is split into old and new towns, many of the old buildings are being renovated. Some sympathetically, some not. Shirley and I spent 4 days in Macau last month and felt there were many more surviving old buildings there. However looking at the pace of build out in Taipa and Coloane it seems this may not continue for long. The Macanese buildings do however seem to be in very poor repair and I suspect many will be demolished if only because they have become unsafe. Perhaps we are unusual in a desire to see the old and not drool over the new. Yim Tin Tsai is just one of many villages that have been abandoned for whatever reason. At the end of our road, about 2 miles up the hill, is Wong Chuk Yeung . That is now due to be redeveloped. 150 new houses and a columbarium. It is not yet finally approved but money talks. They cannot develop the old village without taking large swathes of the surrounding countryside and widening a single track road, damaging the greenery further. I am increasingly pessimistic about the future of HK as I know it and have loved it since 1997.

  2. Yim Tin Tsai is my idea of a heaven. It’s the not so obvious that I love here Andrew. The window picture and the door and bolt are my favourites today. It’s so sad that these governments don’t give a fig for old buildings – It’s the same in Jakarta.

  3. Another one chiming in that Gib is also similar in terms of non-preservation of classic and historic buildings, and so-called modernisation that is totally out of context in historic areas. I took a ‘phone pic today of an utterly bland and tastleless new block that has replaced some perfectly adequate old buildings. 😦

    I prefer the colour pix to the B&W, for some reason the window one looks sharper to me in colour, and I like the duck egg blue/turquoise colour on the walls of the chair one because it reminds me of my walls when I scraped off lots of flaking paint and plaster. The top shot is very atmospheric.

    • Thanks RSITM. The top shot is a good example of why it is sometimes better to take photos in bad weather. I have tried that shot before and it is usually washed out by heat haze and crap in the air. Yesterday we had had rain overnight, it was overcast, cool and reasonably clear. So with a little bit of a contrast boost the image looked half decent. It also meant fewer mozzies than usual. If you don’t mind the risk of a drenching it is good weather to get out.

      • Yes, I am a big fan of cloudy/misty/foggy/damp photography but that probably comes from living in a climate that has boring blue skies for months on end and the light doesn’t change and neither does the weather. The light is too harsh, unless you are a fan of white buildings against blue skies, and there are only so many photos you can take of that.

        Although I suppose if you come from the damp soggy valleys …

        I did get some rainy snaps on Thursday and some of the Levanter over the Rock today, so maybe might add a post at some point. They are all ‘phone pix though as I wasn’t on camera duty, rather donkey duty to the shops. Mozzies not yet woken up this year. won’t be too long though.

  4. All excellent photos. My favorites again (hope you don’t get tired of me pointing out my favorites which has nothing to do with whatever you used to capture a particular subject). Certain ones are favorites because i either like the subject and composition and if it is color or monochrome. I happen to like monochrome a lot. But some subjects demand color, at least in my humble opinion.

    So in this posting I like again, the chairs and the tea set. I like old utensils, wrought iron and, old machines of any kind.

    A question for you. Do you like sepia or have you done any sepia? I can’t remember anything on your blog that was sepia but that is another method that I like a lot. Sepia is a bit tricky in my opinion. One has to be very careful how much hue and saturation to remove and that has to gel/mesh/jive with the subject matter. Sepia and B & W are the only things that I know how to do in adobe. I’ve avoided playing with it for the most part because adobe uses quite a bit of space if you do more than a little bit of work.

    My old computer is now working. I replied to Steve and I think that I will copy and paste that reply as a post. I learned a very valuable lesson and one that as I wrote to Steve, “a lesson that I bought- literally and figuratively.

    ~yvonne~

  5. Yim Tin Tsai is an amazing place it would appear and very much a shame to not be on the HK radar as worthy of attention.
    I like image the second and am attracted to the lock with its overlapping ring engraving. Probably a manufacturers symbol? The moody chairs image is quite a departure from yesterday’s version. I think I prefer the color version in that case, but the B&W version of the curtains is more to my liking as the other is a riot of color and the theme would seem to be about that more than the shapes and depth which are more emphasized in the monochrome. Much poignancy in the tea service image.
    I sense that you have just scratched the surface there and maybe a few liters of bear repellant should be brought in so you can give it a thorough go. 🙂

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

