Another brick in the wall

I was pleased that yesterday the brick stairway was well received. Here are two more walls I have enjoyed photographing.

Bridge2

Sea-wall-Sai-Kung-pano

And no wall here but just a shot I found while looking for brick or wall shots. I vividly remember taking this.

Waiting

These are shot on 3 different cameras. An M3 film camera, an M9 digital camera and an old 30D digital camera. There is much to capture in everyday life. The top image is from Florence, the Ponte Vecchio, built in its current form in 1345. A bridge is believed to have been at this site over the Arno since Roman times.  The second image is in my local town Sai Kung. I have no idea how long the sea wall has been here in that form. The third is outside a modern building, the wet market in Sai Kung.

I think I could match image file to camera instantly but I wonder whether you could. And I bet you can’t guess which camera took this for all the tea in China. Well, Hong Kong anyway.

TeaWall

17 thoughts on “Another brick in the wall

  1. I’m going to hazard a guess that it’s the old digital camera. I’m not a photographer and I know practically nothing about cameras or film – am I allowed another guess if that is wrong?? I’m already wanting to change my mind to the film camera….

    • Ah Lottie, there are 4 cameras in total and the last shot alas is not from film. And none is medium format (Kaushal). I think people might be surprised. All I am demonstrating is that to be honest, it doesn’t matter too much what you shoot with from iPhone to Hasselblad – it depends what you want to do with the file afterwards and above all, how good an eye you have for a picture.

  2. I am not playing silly games. OK, I am. I’d say the film one was either of the two black and whites, but I’ll go for the second one because it has a rather retro look to it and no doubt I will be wrong. Especially looking at the double glazing. Perhaps I’ll switch back to the first.

    Anyway, I like the second one, so it just gets my vote for whatever. Although I might have cropped out the head. Reminds me of sea walls from when I was a kid in Bridlington, so as you have no idea of the age of the one in HK, I shall therefore pretend to be knowledgeable and tell you it is Victorian. I think.

    And how is one supposed to guess the tea one? It’s digital (that’s easy ‘cos you’ve already told Lottie). Sadly you didn’t tell her which camera it was, so my intelligent guessing now stops.

    • Well I think you did rather well, Roughly. The 2nd shot is indeed the film scan. And as you suggested I cropped out the chap’s head and made it into a pano. So now its not a true 35mm format its 16:9 but WTF. It does look better. Thank you. So far you are top of the class.

      • Haha! I so like to win, especially when I don’t know what I am talking about in the company of people who do 🙂 But what is my prize? And don’t forget my dating of the sea wall too. Of course it would be interesting had you left the original up too before the decapitation. I like before and afters as they are educational interesting.

        Perhaps I should like a gold star. I got two for heraldry. Gold stars were extremely coveted. To get one was fortunate, to get two, was effortless (poor attempt at paralleling Wilde).

  3. As I am viewing on the infamous greasy fingerprinted iPhone protective screen there is little chance I could match image to camera. That’s my story and I am sticking to it. Honestly, I don’t think I could more than guess anyway. I fully agree that vision is the key and the photographer is more important than the gear.
    We tend to place too much emphasis on facets of images such as sharpness rather than content. In the right hands a cheap disposable camera can create a meaningful image.

    • I just finished reading the history of Polaroid, Steve. I was surprised how many accomplished photographers had used one. I knew AA did so but many others including Mapplethorpe. That’s about as far removed from the Leica / Hasselblad scene as you can get. Gear is fun but no substitute for vision and artistry.

      • There’s nothing quite as exhilarating as that new camera smell. Unless it is the exciement of a perfectly lit and fully toned expressive image. 🙂

        As a kid we called them “Parlorraid” cameras. 🙂

  4. I can wager a guess but I don’t know if you have manipulated/edited any of these but I think you cropped some of them. You have so many cameras that it would be a lucky guess. The monochrome is the sharpest one, I think so it was probably a film camera.(no 2 image. ( I am behind on comments) But I merely guessed because I need new glasses (aren’t you sick of me writing about the need for new glasses)? 🙂

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

