Florence

Is it raining again? I hear you ask. Well here is what the observatory said:

Screen Shot 2013-04-05 at 09.32.22

Note – Amber Rainstorm and Thunderstorm warnings. As we breakfasted this morning we could have been forgiven for thinking that the end of the world was in progress. Outside it was as black as a Johnny Cash outfit and the deluge so heavy that there was an inch of rain visible on top of the lawn. Good gardening weather, I’m sure Walter Gabriel would have said.

But luckily, in true Blue Peter fashion, here’s one I made earlier. And not a trace of sticky back plastic. Images from those halcyon days of summer when we dawdled our way through Florence, Venice and Rome. Just like Zebedee we fell in love with Florence. Here she is in all her black and white beauty.

Bridge-view

Reflections of Florence

Florentine statue

Florentine view

Uffizi2

12 thoughts on “Florence

  1. Florence is so beautiful and these photos are wonderful. The buildings around the river look far less rustic than I remember them – but I was last there a long time ago,

  2. My goodness what a rain storm. We should be so lucky over my way. Rain had been predicted almost every day and then poof the rain clouds are gone. It might have rained 1/4 or 1/8 of an inch early this morning before daylight ( Thursday am) I hope Texas is not in for more drought.

    But back to Florence. These are excellent shots. I really like the black and white or monochrome if that is the proper word of the processing of the color or lack of, I should say. That statue of the two guys is always amusing to me. ( I think it is two guys?:-) The lower body of the one with the club over his head has legs that look look like of a horse. I am sure there is some meaning 🙂

    • Thanks Yvonne. It is such a beautiful city, compact and easy to navigate. B&W always brings out the best in these sort of scenes in my opinion but I do have some colour images I shall share perhaps. Sadly it is still raining. Not so heavily now but enough to discourage me from venturing out. Maybe tomorrow!

I'd be delighted to hear what you think