Where did all the gondolas go?

Sad to report my back is getting worse not better.  However if North Korea translates its belligerence into action that may be the last of my worries. Literally. However we have good friends in Seoul and generally I look to locals to see how they are reacting. Just as in the 2001-2002 nuclear standoff between India and Pakistan when I saw no sign of my colleagues in Mumbai panicking, neither do I sense panic in Seoul. Apprehension no doubt but wrapped in a belief that it makes no sense for either side to allow the war to resume. I hope they are right. In any case increased defensive deterrence is sensible.

Back to Italy today for more B&W images with just a leetle splash of colour at the end. I find Italy infinitely photogenic and so on with the show.

The Winged Lion (St. Mark) is saying:  che cosa stai guardando? (I apologise to Alessandro if that doesn’t mean what I think it does!)

Lookingatme

I love old gates and locks and this is just a small detail from a Venetian gate

Venetiangate

To see the area around St. Mark’s empty you have to get up at the crack of dawn. We stayed in the Luna Hotel Baglioni and it allowed me to be in the square 2 minutes after leaving the room.

Venice2BW

Veniceearlyam

And this is just one of a myriad of little alleyways I could have photographed. There is a lovely old rhyme that goes:

Caviar comes from the virgin sturgeon, virgin sturgeon very fine fish, virgin sturgeon needs no urgin’ and that’s why caviar is a very rare dish.

SturionBW

And just because we all need a little colour (and birds) in our lives…….

Venetian-gull-K25

Do not go through life without visiting Venice.

11 thoughts on “Where did all the gondolas go?

  1. I posted a comment but our router went out and it did not post. Can’t balme WP for that although it did drop a comment on me the other day.
    If I remember correctly:
    I don’t much care for caviar…only had it once at a free buffet and it put me off, maybe if it is caviar you pay for it is better on the taste buds…but I do like your rhyme.

    The Winged Lion is wonderful as is the gate detail. There is little work such as these being accomplished these days. They are costly and too many value the cheap.

    Sorry your back is still causing you pain. Do you do stretches for it? They would probably be of some help before hauling your kit around. I find that since I started doing them I have not had any muscular or disk tweaks. Knocking on my wooden head for luck now.

    Hopefully the insane moron is just building himself up to his populace. Since the news media there is gov’t controlled he can simply say that the enemy backed down as a result of his threats and he will look the hero. If it is other than that then he crazier than his daddy. And his citizens are still hungry. He would be a bigger hero spending the NKorean cash on feeding the people rather than rattling his saber.

    • Gotta jump in here. Well said , Steve re: North Korea. The “leader” is clearly a nut job as my daughter and I refer to some people. Another favorite of ours is “a work of art.”

    • Steve, I don’t like caviar at all. I have never understood the attraction. I don’t do stretches. I used to and I have a good book called “Treat your own back”. I must find it.

      I don’t know who is pulling the strings in NK. He may be bad. He may be a puppet figurehead. Whichever it is its out of control.

      • Mary Beth has been preaching the virtues of stretching and exercise for ages and, although it has taken thirty years for the message to get through, I am now a convert. 🙂

        I think the big worry for most is that he/they are going to back themselves into a corner where either they feel they have to do something or there will be a miscalculation and a bad decision will cause an escalation. One sunken fishing vessel might be all it takes. They must really be living in the dark ages if they think this new path will lead to the dropping of sanctions and increased aid.

  2. These are great – B&W is perfect for all the street scenes and metalwork. How weird that I can see your photographs on here but not of Champion the Laser dog?

  3. While I like them all, the venice early am really caught my eye. Going to check my lottery ticket tonight, see if I can afford that trip.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

