Dad

Yvonne posted a wonderful picture of her late father on her blog Pets, People & Life. Well worth a look.

That leads me to put up a picture of my dear old dad. I don’t have a proper scanner and my multi-purpose office machine produces very poor quality low res scans. So with apologies to dad for that, here is my favourite image of him. Always with pipe in mouth, mostly not lit, his baby grand behind him, probably after a tinkle or two of Chopin, Liszt or Mozart…

Dad3

 

Probably taken in the late 70s. He died while mowing the lawn, aged just 65. Almost 3 decades ago now but still a big influence on my life. My interest in photography stems from him. Thanks dad.

 

 

18 thoughts on “Dad

  1. A lovely tribute to your Dad who seems the scholarly type with his pipe and turtle neck sweater. Plus he could play classical music. Simply wonderful. I believe you favor your Dad some. I remember you mentioned to me that he had a marvelous singing voice.

    I hope you have all your Dad’s photos and his camera/s.

    My one ambition is to get a really good scanner so that I can begin working on boxes full of photos that came from my husband and his parents and siblings. It will be a staggering task and I hope that I can at least get my son interested in helping me.

    Thanks fo my blog link. So nice of you to do that.

    • Dad was pretty much entirely self taught, Yvonne. He apprenticed as an engineer and never earned much but enough to put two boys through good schooling and look after the family. He learned how to restore antique clocks in his later years and had his own little workbench. Sometimes he took over the kitchen. But he rarely charged a decent rate and it was basically pocket money for him. We were both quite stubborn people and often locked horns but I couldn’t have asked for a better father. I have his rangefinder camera but thats about it.

      • I’m glad you have the rangefinder. A real treasure for sure.

        I forgot to mention that my Dad also played the piano- a very old upright. He played hymns and made up his own boogie woogie. He was self taught but I did not inherit any playing ability. I could sing though and I was encouarged by several people to pursue that but I knew in my heart that I could not get over stage fright and that I woud be too chicken to travel. I sang in high school, a little in church,and for several weddings. I never sang another song after I married. ( sang meekly from the pew in my husband’s church) it twas a stiifled life. 🙂

  2. I thought Yvonne’s picture was super. Yours is equally good but different. Both classics in a different way.
    I don’t have any particularly good shots of my dad, certainly not ones that I took anyway. I’ve posted a few on everypic blog, they were all taken by photographers, by which I mean the loose definition is that they were paid for – and because of the era, they were all black and white.
    http://wp.me/p2c8OG-4D
    http://wp.me/2c8OG
    http://wp.me/p2c8OG-jK
    Naughty Safari crashed on me, so in the intervening period since I started writing my reply, Yvonne snuck in to get First to Comment prize. Which is helpful because I can now add that my dad was an apprentice engineer too, except he never finished it because he got dragged off to that silly war in the 40s. Whereupon he looked after engines in ships and was remarkably good at getting them going extremely fast at the hint of any trouble. Such was the calibre of our fearless boys in blue.

    • Bizarre – I was required to moderate this comment! No idea why. My father was in the Royal Navy on HMS Spiteful, a submarine. He reached the exalted heights of petty officer which always makes me think of The Navy Lark. You can happily have 3rd prize as Kaushal was first to post!

      • As below. You have got your settings for – at a guess – to moderate more than one link on a comment because it might be spam. Perhaps I am. As well as graciously accepting the bronze medal, I also claim one uppersonship as my dad was a CPO. He also liked The Navy Lark.

      • I have no idea what my settings are. Far too complicated. I also liked The Men from the Ministry. Messrs. Guyler & Murdoch. You can get podcasts of The Navy Lark. Still make me smile.

  3. It is a wonderful photo. Did you take it Andrew?
    My mother died in her mid 40’s and unfortunately all the photographs that I had of her where in the back of my car when it was stolen – never to be seen again. It’s sad but that’s life. I loved Yvonnes photo of her dad too.

    • I did take it, Lottie. I don’t have that many of him. Its tragic to lose the photos of your mother like that. It would have been easy to get them back to you somehow. They can’t be of value to anybody but your family. Mid 40s is cruelly young. I thought 65 and 73 were bad.

  4. Lovely photo. Very natural. He was obviously a very good influence on you. So hard when we lose our Dad’s, regardless of our age at the time. Thanks for following Yvonne’s lead.

  5. This is a super photo of your Dad, Andrew. I think we could easily pick him out as your father given the strong resemblance. And, yes, he does look quite distinguished with the turtleneck and peep. A nice little twinkle in the eye as well. By any chance do you have one of his restored clocks?

    Unfortunately I have no family pictures save the one that I posted on FB. When my mother died, my father decided the family pictures all belonged in the town dump and only informed me of that weeks later when there was zero chance of retrieving them. I am just a tad bitter about that.

    Your dad passed away much too young. It is a shame, but he obviously lives on in you which is very nice. Thanks Mr. Hardacre…you turned out a fine son, even if a bit stubborn.

    Hmmm…I am 65 and about to go mow the lawn.

    • Stay away from the lawn, Steve. Let it grow.

      An extraordinarily bizarre decision by your father and quite unforgivable.

      I do not have any of the clocks but my late brother had a few. He appreciated them more than I did. I suspect they are still in the house being loved and cared for by his widow. They will be in good hands.

      • Ah, you are up rather late, Andrew. Mowing is done and I am none the worse for wear. It was the first of the year and I did it in three stages. Next time it will get done in one pass.
        Yes, it was a bizarre decision and one that has not been forgiven. There was no thought to offer them to his sons and he had a tendency to always think of himself first it seems. Ah well, let it go Steve. 🙂
        I am glad to hear that some of the clocks remain in the family. I am sure your sister in law treasures them.

  6. A lovely photo, there is something timeless about B/W to me. I also think a persons character shines out when there are no colours to distract the eye.
    Your dad sounds like mine regarding his pipe, mine would sit there long after it had gone out, in a very similar pose.
    A shock for the nearest and dearest, and at 65 so young too, but far better in my mind, to be active and doing something, rather than wasting away in an infirm and confused condition.

  7. A touching post, Andrew.

    Tech note: your macro skills and equipment are probably the best scanner in town. Use them properly, and you’ll get stunning files, both from old prints (easy), negatives (trickier) and slides (trickiest). You might find it’s worth a try, maybe when a rainy day keeps you indoors…

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

