Now here’s a funny thing, missus.

Max Miller or The Cheekie Chappie is before all our times but I wonder whether we might find his successor in Ben Bernanke. The Fed Chairman gave a Commencement Speech yesterday and even quoted Yogi Berra.

This is a link to a source for the speech.

The rather dry tagline is Economic Prospects for the Long Run. In this speech Bernanke challenges the broadly pessimistic views that seem to prevail today when discussing the global outlook. He looks back and he looks forward. He says:

“…..the conclusion some have drawn is that the sustainable pace of economic growth and change and the associated improvement in living standards will likely slow further, as our most recent technological revolution, in computers and IT, will not transform our lives as dramatically as previous revolutions have.

Well, that’s sort of depressing. Is it true, then, as baseball player Yogi Berra said, that the future ain’t what it used to be? Nobody really knows; as Berra also astutely observed, it’s tough to make predictions, especially about the future.”

His (Bernanke’s not Berra’s) concluding remark is:

“In short, both humanity’s capacity to innovate and the incentives to innovate are greater today than at any other time in history.”

Bernanke is not much older than I am. He and I will have seen much of the same in terms of world change. Not all of it good. Some of it definitely bad. At present the world is in an economic mess. It is slowly being worked through but has a long way to run. It is difficult to look around and find somewhere without problems.Yet since 2009 there has been a slow and unrelenting climb of the wall of worry. It has been painful and not pretty. For countries with 40%+ unemployment, especially amongst the younger generations, it is a catastrophe. But the Chairman of the Fed is out there whistling “Always look on the Bright Side of Life”.  And perhaps there is a lesson there for us all.

My life was brightened by an award from Jayde Ashe over at her blog, The Paperbook Blog. Thank you so much, Jayde. Previously I have refused all awards. Or perhaps I have never been given one. I don’t recall.

This is the award:

877e6-one-love-blog-award-two131

 

Part of the award process is I have to share seven things about myself. So here goes:

And this is why the award process doesn’t work for me. I have been racking my brain to think of 7 remotely interesting things to share and I can’t even come up with one. So maybe I should borrow a trick from Val at Arty Old Bird. You can ask me questions and I’ll pick seven to answer. How about that? And then I will try to select seven more recipients for the One Lovely Blog Award.

In the meantime I will add The Paperbook Blog to my blogroll because it is very good indeed. Lady P. at Penpusherpen is also going on there as another fine recently-discovered blog. I may try to add Ben Bernanke too but I’m not sure he would be a popular choice. But any man that quotes Yogi Berra can’t be all bad………….

My favourites are:

“When you come to a fork in the road, take it.” and

“Always go to other people’s funerals, otherwise they won’t come to yours.”

 

22 thoughts on “Now here’s a funny thing, missus.

  1. How can I not press Like. Andrew?…. I was totally chuffed to see two references to me in the tags… :-)… many thanks for the ‘add’ too, .. I’ve been updating my ‘Pen-Friends of Note’ page and instead of just plain http// links I managed to update the look, by using avatars and hidden links to each blog… I’m not boasting,(honest!!) just thinking about progress and how it affects all of us.. We live and learn, always, picking up what works for us in this revolution of ideas for the internet, .. and in doing so we are evolving, as does the World around us, in Britain, the loss of so many manufacturing industries left us vulnerable, Steel, Coal Mining, Clothing Industry, etc… all went by the by and we’re still trying to find our feet.. The future prospects? No-one can say for sure, … only that we or our children ad infinitum.. will have to face whatever is waiting ’round the next corner… Hopefully the future’s bright… erm… I’ll stop there before I advertise Orange!! …. Your thoughtful Blog had certainly made my grey cells work this morning, , .. and before I go, as with you, when I receive a blog ‘award’ I’ve just replied thank you…I’m a bit busy..but thanks for the thought behind it.. and left it at that.. but a question? erm… my mind has now decided to go a complete blank.. I shall get back to you on that one… 😉 … have a great day… xPenx

    • Thanks Pen. I’m never sure how people will react when I touch on things that have a more serious bent. Its not my normal fare. But occasionally I see an article that strikes me as interesting to how we live our lives. I don’t expect people to agree necessarily but the current mess affects us all and Bernanke is a key figure. I await the questions!

  2. An insightful read that I like- causes me to think which is quite difficult at my age. But now that I “think about it” I’ve not been able to think much since I entered this world. Honestly I love reading these kinds of posts. I shall repeat myself here. Good writers are few and far between. You happen to be in the class of the good few. Funny and sarcastic is right up or down my alley.

    But back to the federal reserve guy. I think he is has been lost at sea for a long time and suffers from dehydration and his brain is saturated with sea salt. Yogi Berra could do a better job than old Ben. After all he directed hundreds of picthers to throw the right ball and I suspect he could the same thing where money is involved. I am joking here, but writing this, I had to THINK and now my bird brain is tired. 🙂

    Oh yes. What was that again? I had to think for a moment or two. “One Lovely Award” for you. Great going Andrew. 🙂

  3. The Empress is in the doldrums. She’s succumbed to a particularly acute attack of Sunday-itis. Put it this way, even the offer of a glass of wine hasn’t cheered her (miserable old bat). The reason that I’m telling you this woeful news is not for sympathy, good grief no, but as a convenient get-out for not having any snappy questions to ask you. Things may well change over the course of the next few hours but for now, like Pen, I’ll shall have to get back to you on that one. Having said that, I did have one but then when I told Irishman he said ‘Lottie, that is elitist and pompous’ so I shan’t bother passing it on.

  4. When the ball’s on the other foot, or the foot’s on the other shoe, or whatever it is, it’s difficult to think of a question!! (Cuckoo!) Thanks for the mention. I wish I could think of something useful to contribute towards the political part of the post, too, but alas I can’t. The birds woke me too early this morning and I didn’t have enough sleep and can’t really focus much.

    As for us not remembering Max Miller – alas, I do. 😦 Sort of.

    • Max has been dead 50 years, Val. I think he may be just a faint childhood memory. But I do remember my parents talking about him and seeing ‘tribute acts’ on shows like The Good Old Days.

      • 🙂 I’m in my early 60s, Andrew. The horrible variety shows used to show him on TV when I was a child: he was old and wizened and simply dreadful!

  5. I used to live in the same New Jersey town as Yogi and for several years I photographed his charity golf tournament along with other Yankee greats such as Mantle and Ford. Yogi is a great guy. Other Yogi isms I am fond of include…
    ” You can observe a lot by watching ”
    “You better cut the pizza in four pieces because I’m not hungry enough to eat six.”
    “Nobody goes there anymore; it’s too crowded.”

  6. My favorite is : “Sir. I can see you like this lady. But your courting rituals need work. What you need to do is follow her around for two days. Make snorting sounds. Then fight any male that looks at her, and then of course, urinate on her to mark her as your territory. Works every time. ”

    I think ol Ben knows there is little that can be done through policy any more. So cheer-leading apparently is the new tack to get the economy going. That and, just maybe, having a congress that is more interested in improving the economy than who is holding the prez’ umbrella. Such scandal.

    There is a book of Yogi-isms but I haven’t read it yet…I’m waiting for the movie. And now that I realize which Yogi we’re talking about, my favorite is :”90% of the game is half mental.”

    Hmmm…a question for Andrew. If you were a bean would you rather be sprouted or turned into dip?

  7. Except that I’m probably thinking about Max Wall… that’s the problem with getting older (and also of not yet having had my breakfast and yes, I know it’s past 10 am)… memory goes.

    • Ah now Max Wall I remember – Billy Dainty used to do impressions of him. Trousers too short, forward strut like a chicken, not a bit like Max Miller. I struggle to remember what happened a few minutes ago too sometimes and often I repeat myself unintentionally. I struggle to remember what happened a few minutes ago too sometimes and often I repeat myself unintentionally.

  8. Hey Andrew, Has the pigeon arrived yet to leave a message of restoration and hope for the world. Back to copper and ditch E-spectacles and go for long walks with the camera. (and short on Face-Book Inc.)

    • Something sh*t on me, Gerard so I guess it must have been the pigeon. I don’t think it was the Dove of Peace. I feel a blog post coming on.

  9. Congratulations! You’ve done well in spite of what Bernanke says. Love your quote, “Always go to other people’s funerals, otherwise they won’t come to yours.” My dad was really concerned that no one would come to his funeral so he invited his Dr. and nurse to attend. They did. along with 6 other people. I’m thinking he didn’t attend very many funerals! 🙂 Have a great day, enjoy your award, and I’ll look forward to your next award when you DO think of 7 things to tell about yourself! 🙂 Meanwhile, we readers will read between the lines to figure it out! 🙂 Marsha 🙂

  10. I was confusing Max Miller and Max Wall too. I don’t remember either but Max Wall was the blue (at the time) one wasn’t he? Quite funny some of his jokes I thought.

    I loved the one about predicting the future. As a historian my forte is predicting the past, so much easier. Never heard of the guy incidentally but thereagain baseball means zilch to me.

    Here’s a few questions .. take your pick (along with Michael Miles)

    The usual sort of boring ones that people put on these awardy posts 😀

    Most memorable travel experience/holiday (work incidents excluded because I’ve heard those before :D)

    Favourite film – you can have three, ie ancient, middling and relatively recent

    How many languages do you speak, that can be anything from asking for a beer in ten languages (which I can manage but not much use to you) to actually being able to hold a conversation.

    Do you have any practical skills? NO! photography does not count 😀

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

