Cambodia………. progress report

Well we are coming to the end of day three in Phnom Penh and soon we will be heading South. We are well settled in our hotel and making the most of the long days and dry weather. Humidity is not a problem here but hydration is essential. Lots of water is being drunk to keep us going. I always find I have to shoot myself in on these workshops. I can not flick a switch and see beautiful images in my mind. The first few days I have struggled to get what I want but not for the want of opportunities. Watching the experts shoot much of the knack is anticipation, getting in the right place in good time. Like birding, sometimes you wait for the picture to come to you. Slowly you get into the habit of looking all around the frame for incongruities, things that don’t belong in a strong image. The light can be challenging as the day wears on. Harsh sunlight creates strong contrast and dynamic range that will blow you either end of the histogram if you are not careful. Shadow becomes a prize.

Although I have not yet produced an image I am happy with I will offer a few shots that wriggled through the reject filter. I hope you find something to enjoy.

Brothers

Brothers

Monk

Monk

The Drum

The Drum

POP!

POP!

Down Time

Down Time

Cambodian Girl

Cambodian Girl

Beam Boy

Beam Boy

Mother Superior

Mother Superior

Mother Superior

Mother Superior

Its all over - phew!

Its all over – phew!

I also apologise that I am behind with “blog following” and I shall endeavour to catch up soon.

24 thoughts on “Cambodia………. progress report

  1. I am no judge of this discipline but all seem well enough done to me, Andrew. “Brothers” and “Beam Boy” both appeal to me (I wish Beam Boy’s entire finger was there) and who could not smile at a lounging monk? πŸ™‚

  2. Aaah, these are all fabulous Andrew. Cambodian girl is my favourite and The Drum. Looking forward to hearing/seeing more about your trip soon and hope you are ‘havin’ a super smashin’ great time’!

  3. The monochromes of the Brothers and Mother Superior are excellent. The little Cambodian girl in color I also like very much. I am so glad that you were able to post these.

  4. I like several, particularly the first and last. The nun in B&W looks slightly Oof to my tired eyes, and her colour version looks like she may have liver problems(jmho). From the many posts you have made with accompanying street shots, I am sure you will return home with many keepers, and hopefully you share them with your followers. Enjoy the shoot! Careful of the infamous Changover!

  5. I enjoyed them all Andrew, … as someone who can’t takes photo’s (good ones) for toffee. (although if you proffer the toffee I will TRY my best πŸ˜‰ ) , … the portrait studies draw me back, to take another look-see. .. especially the Beam Boy, …. his eyes are so expressive. xPenx

  6. I actually like them all. I love the little girl in the blue dress, the lady laughing, and the serious little boy. I thing the first black and white one is stunning. It is bold. The floor is an especially nice backdrop to the two boys. You are too modest! πŸ™‚

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

