Cambodia reconnected

By some miracle of modern technology here in a location where power cuts occur on an all too frequent basis, the inter web-thingy seems accessible. To be honest you have not missed a great deal. My hit rate is staggeringly abysmal on this leg of the trip. We have also shot a lot less and the slow pace does not suit me at all. But we have left behind the ugly den of iniquity that is Sihanoukville and arrived in Kampot. A greater contrast would be hard to imagine, starting with the hotel, which seems to be run for the benefit of the guests rather than the staff. The Sihanoukville Fawlty Towers was an interesting experience. Kampot has an old colonial feel to it and is attractive in its own right. Today we have been to nearby Kep, where a crab market kept us occupied for some time.

I will do a longer trawl of the files when I arrive back in Hong Kong but here are a few that made it through the cull.

L1002452

L1002398

CraneBoy

L1002618

L1002611

L1002567

L1002518

L1002905-2

Colourcontrast-girls

L1002878-2

L1002823-2

Tomorrow we have a 5.30am start and I am hoping for good light and a grand finale as the end of the trip approaches. Mrs. Ha has returned from her spa in Thailand in good spirits and health. I am threatened with a fitness regime when I arrive home. I shall resist vigorously. Lulu will be my stand-in. She is 0.2 lb overweight and needs some yoga / pilates etc. When I reach civilisation I shall also catch up on blog reading, assuming of course that HK is still connected.

12 thoughts on “Cambodia reconnected

  1. Awww, Poor Lulu, Andrew, .. have a heart, … 😉 … I’ve just been scrolling up and down your photo’s again and again…. Marvellous, they all are. , and I was wondering how you get people to pose and do it so naturally. Makes the looking/viewing ever so enjoyable… Catch up soon… xPenx.

  2. some very nice images here. The 1st, 3rd and last are my favourites. I really admire how you explore various photography genres like travel, street, portraiture and wildlife in your blog posts. Always something different visually, backed up with some crisp writing.

  3. Number 1, 2, 4, 5, and 10 are personal favorites. All of these are excellent for sure. I don’t know if my vision has improved or what but this batch seems extra crisp and the color saturation is so good. Could be that I am seeing in a different light. 🙂 .

  4. Cambodia appears – she says generalising hugely – to be full of beautiful young girls and smiley old men with character. I like 4 and 5 too. I like the last one as well. Why do some of the photos appear quite dark? Is that the lighting or have you been over-fiddling with your pp? (More classy technical terms from roughseas)

    • I am constantly fiddling with my pp, roughseas. Always looking for the right atmosphere. Some shots in bright light need to be darkened to control highlights as I don’t do HDR. I’ll have another look when I get home and see if I have fiddles too much.

  5. People look happy and I keep wondering what level of happiness would be shown if photos were taken here in Australia in similar circumstances.
    I noticed one lovely shot of a lady having tipped a lock of her hair in blond colouring. Cambodia had a rough time, but the radiance of its people came through in the photos. Well done Andrew.

  6. I can only view these on my ancient IPhone G3 right now, but the photos look wonderful. Such a calm quality to many of the people.

    I agree with comment about your ability to photograph different genres with equal sensitivity and creativity.

    I’d stock up on a few buns before returning to HK

    Would enjoy hearing about the Fawlty Towers hotel experience.

  7. Some really compelling portraits Andrew. You have definitely found your groove. The older gentleman in the hammock is undoubtedly a Leica shot, the 3D pop is superlative. The silhouette is intriguing as well. Too my eye only the portrait of the young women seems off, a result of a wide lens and edge distortion. Her fingers, hand and arm look a little long. Really enjoyed viewing these, and I would surely print a few of these. Well done Andrew.

  8. Great pics!
    I’m quite mesmerised by the old man in the hammock, how on earth does he manage to stay in it sitting in a position like that.

    • Hammocks are everywhere. The babies are rocked in them so I guess the man has a lifetime’s experience of hammock balancing. 😉

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

