Damsels not in distress

I braved the heat for a couple of hours this morning. That was all I could tolerate. I had already drunk 2L of water by then and the sun was so harsh it was ruining the photos anyway. So I came away with just a few nice frames today.

I shall start with 2 damselflies. The first one is an ageing male Orange-tailed Midget. You can tell it is like me, getting on a bit, because the dorsal surface of the thorax is pruinosed pale bluish white. The uniform colour of the front and hindwing pterostigma reveal it is not Agriocnemis pygmaea.ย 

Agriocnemis femina oryzae

Agriocnemis femina oryzae

The second one is Common Bluetail – female. I struggled to get close enough to this one.

Ischnura senegalensis

Ischnura senegalensis

To finish, two dragonflies. I managed a head on shot of the Forest Chaser this morning. Very tolerant it was.

Lyriothemis elegantissima
Lyriothemis elegantissima

It was quite deep in the shade but you can still see the gorgeous green metallic sheen to the frons. My reference text describes the rest of the face as pale yellow but I think creamy white looks more like it here. Incidentally no HK dragonfly enthusiast should be without Keith Wilson’s “Hong Kong Dragonflies” published by The Urban Council in 1995.

Finally an image I would not normally keep but I know people outside HK like this species so I offer it up despite the limited DoF. ย  Russet Percher.

Neurothemis fulvia

Neurothemis fulvia

That was the last one I shot before heat exhaustion overtook me and I conceded defeat. No odes were hurt in the making of this blog post but the photographer nearly was ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Now we head into a massive sporting weekend. Wales against Australia for the last game of the Lions tour tomorrow, the Wimbledon finals and hopefully another chance for Andy Murray to win if he can get through a tough semi today. Whatever happens there will still be photos to search out on Monday.

17 thoughts on “Damsels not in distress

  1. Amazing photos. I have never seen anything like these photographs. Who would have thought that HK offered delights of these creatures?
    Thanks Andrew for the Whet,whet,whet.

  2. The blue tail one does not look blue. Must be the light. The head shot looks like an alien. I like the russet one. So graceful. Looks like another ballerina. What is wrong with that shot?

    And now I must off to the shops to get in the beer supplies for the rugby. Not that he will be able to watch it, but he will be able to drink and think about it. And no doubt wonder who to support as he has split allegiances so he will no doubt be happy whoever wins, unlike Wales England matches.

    • “The blue tail one does not look blue. Must be the light” – agreed, It looks orange to me ๐Ÿ™‚

      Beer is crucial to a good rugby match. Perhaps that is why I struggle nowadays. I get too tense. Heaven knows what the players must be like. I’m guessing they don’t get to drink beer during the match either although sometimes I have my suspicions.

      The Russet Percher shot? Look at the wing tips. Not in focus. Dreadful ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • RP looks good enough, but I didn’t blow it up. After all, apart from the head, The Alien is totally out of focus. I still prefer the dancing RP. And now, I really MUST go buy a six pack of Smigs.

  3. I don’t know if I can watch Andy’s Semi final match, the last one nearly made me turn to drink!! (Joking! Hic!!) Beautiful, delicate,intricate and such colour that defies description., not you, the damsels. (and I take your word that none were hurt etc… ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) hope you managed to recover your equilibrium. (my, what a tricky word to type inebriated ๐Ÿ™‚ x xPenx

  4. Wonderful photographs as usual. Glad you included the Russet. I love the pose and perch. Even the slightly out of focus wingtip adds a sense of the creatures proportions.
    You have captured so much detail – quite remarkable.
    Enjoy your rugger/tennis weekend.

    • Yes, Mike, it is about 33C officially now but the NT are always higher away from the coast. The mozzies are a pain. This morning I was in long trousers, long sleeves and had a hat on, just to protect myself from the mozzies. I don’t react too badly but my wife does. The little blighters can carry dengue fever and Jap. encephalitis so its better not to get bitten. Was he anywhere near us in Sai Kung?

  5. Fine odes, Andrew. I agree with Rod about the inclusion of the Russett. Even a less than perfect image is still a delight. Is RP getting on in days or is it regular to have the clear wing tips? I love the Forest Chaser…well. I would be partial to a Forest anything…but the full on facial shot is wonderful. They all have such nice big grins and the Dali-esque “eyebrows” are very cool.

  6. I’m a bit late here, but this is a gorgeous set of images–dragon and damselflies are some of my favorites. Nicely done, especially with the DOF control.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

