Typhoon? What typhoon?

Typhoon, as I suspect most people know, is a transliteration of tai (or dai) fung or big wind. Except that Wikipedia isn’t sure and says it may come from a Persian word. Well be that as it may we are currently under the cosh from Typoon Utor. Here is the status from the HK Observatory.

Screen Shot 2013-08-14 at 11.26.47

 

Now a T8 means people get to stay home and shops remain closed in the main. Public transport is reduced. During the night I was awakened several times by the sound of the rain battering the windows but I was so tired I just drifted back into a deep sleep each time. When I finally surfaced this morning I looked out and fully expected the T8 signal to be down. Yes it is windy and there is a little rain but bearing in mind we face due East I thought it would be much rougher. This is pretty much what Winnie the Pooh would regard as a blustery day. I don’t think Pooh and Piglet would have stayed off the honey just because their umbrellas might get turned inside out. I do recognise though that other parts of HK may be faring somewhat worse. HK is a small area but has remarkably local weather. Often we find it dry on one side of the Tseung Kwan O tunnel only to emerge at the other end into torrential rain. So if you are commuting it can be a bit of a lottery. Nonetheless, my jaw dropped when I read this on Bloomberg this morning:

Screen Shot 2013-08-14 at 11.19.28

 

FIFTEEN MINUTES…..OMG. You poor sweet baby. My heart bleeds for you. Try standing on the platform of Bishop’s Stortford or Winchester railway station at 6am on a weekday morning in sub-zero temperatures or torrential rain, wondering whether British Rail will produce a train for you. Or will the wrong sort of snow or indeed the classic ‘leaves on the line’ prevent a normal service. FIFTEEN MINUTES. Anybody in London (and probably many other major financial centres) with a 15 minute commute would think they had died and gone to heaven.

Even in the time I have been writing this the rain has picked up but the wind remains no worse than TP or Typhoon category Pooh. Now we do have one crucial decision to make after lunch. Lulu is scheduled to have her claws clipped this afternoon. If the T8 or TP is reduced to T3, the poodle parlour will open and we will have to take her down to town. How long will it take to get there. Well I guess about FIFTEEN MINUTES. And it might be a bit blustery. Suddenly I think Yueyang Hou may have a point. I may have to curl up in the chair with a good book and cancel. Researching the etymology of the word typhoon is far more important than getting wet.

13 thoughts on “Typhoon? What typhoon?

  1. You are so right Andrew. Yueyang Hou seriously does not know on which side his bread his buttered. I do hope you have responded to his pathetic whinge. I’m sure the good folk of Bishop’s Stortford and Winchester, and indeed every frozen and rain-soaked commuter trekking into London from the ‘burbs would be thrilled if you gave them a mention. Do you remember when train station waiting rooms had real coal fires?

    If Lulu is anything like Poo, I’m sure she’d much rather stay put in her basket chewing on some tasty smackerel rather than brave the elements and risk getting soaked and blown about. I think tea, toast and honey, and a good book sounds like the best bet for today (but don’t tell Mr Hou) 😉

    • Lottie, Princess Lulu has returned safely and dry, sporting a rather natty pink ribbon. We are down to T3 now so YH can expect a little less disruption on tomorrow’s marathon expedition across the barren, icy wastes of HK. If Amundsen could do it I am sure YH will be able to do so too.

      Oh yes indeed I do remember real fires in railway station waiting rooms. Many of them I suspect were started by Plaid Cymru. As the old advert said, Come home to a real fire, buy a holiday cottage in North Wales.

      • Is that still going on? the house burning I mean. Plaid Cymru sounds so innocent, like the name of some sort of golfing clothing brand. Princess Lulu sounds very bonny with her pink ribbon, which reminds me thinking about those words we might think about reinstating – I’ve had a thought – stepping out, courting, bonny, jolly, lashings (as in ginger beer NOT s&m), top hole, rather, yikes, are just a few, oh and maybe gay. I’ll keep thinking

  2. I laughed at your ‘reply’ to Yueyang Hou. He hasn’t lived has he? LOL

    I know we were on the top of the Malverns, but I can relate to strong winds.
    On the day we blew our Cobwebs away T reckons it was at least 50mph

  3. 15 minutes….what an ordeal. OTOH, there is a weak trend in news reporting, at least around here, to give people a feeling of involvement. At the scene of a backup for road construction a reporter will ask “Are you inconvenienced by this delay?”. Brilliant. Reporting at its finest. “What do you think about your neighbor murdering his family?” “Does it bother you that the price of gasoline has doubled?” All prize winning queries. 🙂
    Stay safe and dry, Andrew. Maybe some wonderful wanderer awaits you.

  4. I kind of get the weather report on Typhoon in HK everyday as one of my FB friend is currently travelling in HK. I think he couldn’t know in advance when he booked air ticket to go there during this time.

    Anyway, hopefully it will pass soon.

  5. I think the best weather report ever was one in England. I think it was gale force winds in the Channel. The report said “…Continent completely curt off”. Now that’s British confidence for you. Although other nationalities might have a different word for it 🙂

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

