A blooming beauty and a rare visitor

This is, I believe a cultivar orchid of the genus Oncidium. If you know better, please correct me.Orchid oncidium cultivar

 

Photographed in our garden this afternoon. This is an epiphyte growing on the Frangipani tree.

For those of you lucky enough not to follow my FB page you will be oblivious to the joy I experienced yesterday afternoon courtesy of Mrs. Ha. She spotted a ‘different bird’ in the garden and it turned out to be a Pallas’s Grasshopper Warbler. This is a Class A skulker. An LBJ of the most irritating order. It tends to favour ground cover and scuttles a bit like a rodent. It is normally found in agricultural wetland. Yesterday it was in our garden. My joy has been muted somewhat by discovering that apparently PGWs are currently attempting to take over HK and have been found by the dozen at Mai Po this week. 30 on Monday and a full Heinz (57) this morning. Be that as it may, they are supposed to be at Mai Po. They are not supposed to be in my garden. But this juvenile of the race rubescens (from Northern Siberia) did a quick twirl for me. The windows were closed most of the time for fear of flushing the bird completely. I eased them open a fraction at the end. The rain tipped down and the light faded. This was the shot I was most happy with and that is of course a relative term because the others were miserable. John Holmes kindly passed on one of his PG Tips – have a cup of tea. And here is the magical PG.

Pallas's Grasshopper WarblerI also credit the Pallas’s with medicinal properties. I don’t mean it should be taken as part of a TCM remedy (Traditional Chinese Medicine) but by a miracle the arrival of the PG coincided with a turn in my health and today I am on the road to recovery. Not yet well enough to venture out but feeling rather more chipper than yesterday morning. All that is left now is to go and have a sharp word with Lulu about yesterday’s post. We are not amused.

 

14 thoughts on “A blooming beauty and a rare visitor

  1. I wouldn’t know one PG from another but reckon it seems a lovely little feller. My brother was a keen follower of orchids, especially native Australian orchids. Have you heard of the Nodding Greenhood and Lambs-tail orchid?
    I spent days in rugged Australian bush with my brother and his camera looking for the elusive orchids. We finally did find them but they were so small and so unlike an orchid I did everything to hide my disappointment. The Nodding Greenhood only lives for a day or so and are shy with sometimes just flowering underground.
    The Lambs-Tail grows hanging from rocks.
    The biggest drawbacks in looking for orchids were the Brown snakes. They are very dangerous and often lurk around native orchids and can still inject their venom with striking up even after they have been killed. I never killed snakes in the bush but when one was found curled underneath our stack of fire wood near the front door and Helvi almost got bitten, I did kill it with a sharp shovel.

  2. I can see from the photo that PGW is a shy and illusive little pip of a bird, Very good sighting for Mrs Ha on the bird.

    I do think that finding somthing new or interesting can send good endorphins cruising though our bodies thus making one feel better. So I am very glad that you are beginning to mend.

  3. Excellent news that you are feeling more chipper today though I’m sorry that my favourite Pomeranian is going to be ousted from her journalistic duties, she’s my sort of girl. Shoots straight from the hip.

    Speaking of birds in your garden, hows young what’s his name doing? The one that fell out of the nest. I keep meaning to ask you. I’m hoping that no news is good news rather than that some awful fate fell upon him? 😦

    And orchids, oh such beauties! In Indonesia a ‘c’ is pronounced like ‘ch’ as in chocolate so they are referred to as Or-CHids.

  4. Once again, great photos of great finds. I love it when something different lands on my doorstep, you will see on my Labyrinth blog if you look for Mean Green Leaf Eating Machine.

    I wish to make a complaint (famous John Cleese line). I always visit your new posts, as you do mine, but you have taken your ‘Like’ button off; I’m sure you had one earlier, so I can’t register my visit without making a comment, and often, I have nothing to add, other than I ‘Liked’ a post.

    • I have indeed removed the Like button AV but do not feel obliged to comment. No umbrage will be taken. My reader is crashing all the time at the moment so I am behind with my reading. I need to spend some time at the laptop as the crashes only occur on mobile. I will try to catch up with your mean green leaf eating machine and the adventures of Cloro, I hope.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

