BAD art

Yesterday felt like I’d thrown a party and nobody came. Ah well, perhaps the muppets are out of favour. Today I throw caution to the wind and mutilate two perfectly decent images for the sheer hell of it.

Today’s bird is the Olive-backed Pipit, Anthus hodgsoni. I looked up Mr. Hodgson in Biographies for Birdwatchers and Brian Houghton Hodgson was a bit of a star. He lived from 1800-1894 and was an ethnologist, author and naturalist. He spent much time in the Sub-continent and was an expert on Nepal, where he spent much of his time. He is reputed to have told Hooker (Sir Joseph, rather than a lady of easy virtue) that “the hardest work of all is idleness”. This is a man who amassed 9,500 skins (of birds) in India and donated them to the British Museum. The collection was later broken up and distributed amongst other museums. Of course 9,500 is a lot of birds to shoot but it was all in the course of science. I wonder how he would get on with the luminaries of the RSPB today. However the primary factoid for which I admire BHH is that he married at the age of 69 and lived long enough to celebrate his silver wedding anniversary. Incredible.

OBP is a common bird in Hong Kong in the winter months. They frequent our garden and have a nice bobbing walk. They don’t like you to approach too close but they bob off rather than fly far. They are quite social birds, almost always travelling in small gangs. I like them because they tend to confirm that the cooler weather has arrived and the humidity has dropped. They have a distinctive ‘teardrop’ marking behind the eye which is a simple but reliable identification feature.

These 2 images are photographs put through a Photoshop filter to give them texture. You either like it or you don’t. I don’t really mind which bucket you fall into.

Olive-backed Pipittexture

OlivebackedPipittexture2BAD will need to take a breather until next Thursday at least. I am off to Dubai to work this weekend. The bills must be paid. I have also been preoccupied with reading the excellent Nestroy biography Bin Dichter nur der Posse. Almost over the finishing line. The decision is then what to read next. The Kindle has a backlog and I have a pile of Dickens to choose from. I must also crack on with my CornDancer labour of love. BHH would be proud that idleness has not yet poisoned my ageing bones. I hope somebody comes to the party tonight even if the host is asleep at the time. We are now a mere week away from The Year of the Horse and that may also interfere with normal service. We shall see.

 

23 thoughts on “BAD art

  1. I agree, you mutilated two perfectly fine photos. The OBP is a lovely bird best viewed in non textured images.
    I was wondering how many languages you are you fluent?
    Why are you working over a weekend instead of usual business days? Wow! I’m being awfully intrusive. Pardon.
    Safe travels to Dubai! Looking forward to your next BAD post, whenever it arrives.

    • The weekend in the Middle East is Thursday/Friday (Saudi) or Friday/Saturday (elsewhere) Caroline. Sunday is a working day in Dubai. I can read several languages but only speak English and German fluently. I can get by in a few more 😊

  2. I like the textures, almost makes them look like paintings. Do you get time off with the camera when you are in Dubai, or is it like I used to be? Fly in, do the work, fly out again.

    • No free time Mike. The schedule runs from 7am to late evening dinner. I am quite looking forward to it. Quite like the old days but now I do it from choice! There are some good birding spots in Dubai. Maybe I will sneak the SX50 into my briefcase.

  3. The Anglican Church also had a famous hooker (Richard). Amazing mind.
    I fall into the not-preferred textural bucket. Wouldn’t want to fall into Lottie’s. very nice birds.
    will miss the BAD old days. Safe trip.

    • The best hooker is undoubtedly is Richard Hibbard but I don’t think he is a candidate for sainthood. Sad that the texture displeases some. This is a multi-denominational blog and welcomes people of a textured and untextured faith.

  4. No, Rod, you sure wouldn’t want to fall into mine! Oh dear, maybe some things are best unsaid/written. But, back to Andrew and this post. I’m not so fond of the textured but it’s quite fun to see what difference various filters make to an image. I love the BHH factoid, if he can get a Silver wedding anniversary under his belt so late on in life, then so can we! Hope your trip is successful and that it keeps Mrs Ha in Manolo’s for months to come 😉

  5. For me just to see the birds in any ‘tweaked’ way, or not, is a blessing, Andrew. They’re few and far between in our Winter Months, so I’ve been looking at your back issues, (hope it didn’t hurt at all 😉 ) and treating myself. I defy anyone to look at birds, photo’s or otherwise and not ‘feel’ a sudden lift of the senses. xx

  6. Pretty birds. What’s the big deal about texture? Every one of your images is a one-dimensional, electrically charged expression of a long-gone moment of past reality, bringing to mind a notion. Reality is merely imagined. You are creating graphics art of the highest quality. The birds don’t mind. Pretty birds.

  7. I don’t mind the textures but prefer without. That said, a friend locally has been posting many of his very good bird photos on FB with textures and borders and they are starting to get bothersome so I may be predisposed to prefer without.
    And those two are indeed very decent.
    I am glad to hear that you and Mr. Bowles are continuing your work together. I think I may have fallen out of favor. 😯

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

