CornDancer collaboration 3. Red-flanked Bluetail

Today I am asking you to do me a favour and simply click through to a more ambitious piece. This is the third collaboration with Ebenezer Baldwin Bowles of CornDancer.com

It a photo essay on the Red-flanked Bluetail, Tarsiger cyanurus. As with previous works I provide the photos and the skeleton of the narrative. Eb transmogrifies my raw material into the polished end result. Of course it means that any errors are down to me and me alone. Eb adds the icing on the cake. He finds wonderful historical references and illustrations. In the process of the research for this piece we have both enjoyed greatly reading the work of Henry E. Dresser. There is also a good lesson here, namely that we ignore to our own loss the old works, which were based on field observations and personal research rather than many of today’s pieces which are built substantially on photographic excellence.  They can happily co-exist and the old works please as much as the most modern field guide. So here is the link and I hope you will enjoy the result.

http://www.corndancer.com/crow/crowgloss/gloss060079/crwglss71.html

Thank you.

21 thoughts on “CornDancer collaboration 3. Red-flanked Bluetail

  1. You’ve outdone yourself, Andrew. To my layman’s eye this is so well and thoroughly researched as to be in an ornithological journal……Not to disparage at all its current host. And, of course, the images are yummy.

  2. Red flanked Blue Tit. Most bird names sometimes leave me shaking my head but this bird’d name fits it so well. The photos are outstanfing as well as the writing makes this VERY interesting. Since I’m keen on birds I enjoy all the fancy-smacy writing that accompanies your articles on Corn Dancer.

    I’m sort of curious how Ed picked the name corndancer for the name of his site. I know a bit about “pulling” corn off the stalk and then hurling it on to a moving wagon as my dad and I worked at top speed to keep up with the wagon. Those were days of many years years ago when I worked alongside my dad and my mother drove the tractor.

    • petpeopleandlife…. Hello! The name CornDancer comes from the annual corn harvest dance and green harvest dance of several native American tribes — the Seminole of Florida, the Lacuna Pueblo of New Mexico, The Creek of Oklahoma, and many others. On our web the term CornDancer symbolizes the creative harvest of the intellect, the mind and the spirit. BTW, although it began in the year 2000 as my web, today I’m merely the web manager. We host works by over 500 writers, photographers, teachers, and students with several thousand web pages. Ours is totally a non-commercial, open access, altruistic project in community building. This is how we imagine the Internet. –Ebenezer

  3. Well then you are a wise and generous man. You certainly have the right idea and with 500 or so contibutors your ideas and web site have been a tremendous success. I apologize for calling/writing your name as Ed rather than Eb. Those d’s and b’s can be confusing. 🙂 ~yvonne

    PS: I applaud your choice of CornDancer in honoring native American indians.

    • Thanks, Yvonne! Eb Eb it makes no difference. It’s the heart that matters. Andrew’s heart is as big as they come — he’s a wonderful addition to our CornDancer family.

      My true love Freddie Liz is faculty adviser to the Native American Students Association at the University. She works closely with the Cherokee and Choctaw Nations in Oklahoma, and teaches me much about this land’s First Peoples. I am richly blessed.

  4. A fantastic collaboration, congratulations to you both on your joint venture. Andrew, your photographs are always a joy but I especially loved seeing them blown up larger than life, they complimented Eb’s post beautifully. A most excellent read, thank you.

    • Thanks Hilary. I am trying to find a balance between a scientific paper, which I am not qualified to write, and something that is simply too light. Its a hard line to find and risks criticism from experts who misunderstand our aims. For me it is fun and serious at the same time. I am learning as I go and hopefully we will soon find a structure and blended tone that pitches it right.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

