I’m a fan.

This is not an advertisement for The Mandarin Oriental hotel chain (outstanding though it is) but I did find a fungus today that reminded me of a fan:

I'm a fanIt may be Trametes cf. modesta but I am not 100% sure.

I decided that come hell or high water I needed to get out this morning and after I had munched my way through my morning cereal there was just a faint suggestion of something round and bright yellow in the sky. Accordingly I took a rain check on the toast, slung my camera bag in the car and drove a few km down the road to my regular patch. By which time the currant bun (sun) had disappeared, never to be seen again. Nevertheless I plodded my way round looking for insects. Not a sausage. Nor an insect. You see I am almost through a superb book on bees: A Sting in the Tale, by Dave Goulson. It is both educational and entertainingly written. Just about the right length to retain my interest and definitely a fine advert for the bees of the world. The weather on arrival was a bit dull and dreary but I thought I might see a few bees as the temperature is up to 16-20C today. I may have seen a couple but they looked more dozy than I.

So plan B is always to look for something that doesn’t move much. I find a deep affinity with such organisms. I found the fungus above in reasonable abundance but I botched my ‘wide angle’ shot, which will therefore never see the light of day. Not enough DoF despite using the DoF preview button. Botheration. And then I found a small patch of fungi, presumably all the same species but in different stages of life cycle. After much (head) scratching I worked out how to put 4 images into one and here it is:

Fungus composite smallNo idea what it is but it is a nice salmon pink colour – well hidden in the leaf litter of the undergrowth. I hope somebody will put a name to it for me as I trawled that rib-tickling, side-splitting tome, Hong Kong Mushrooms, without joy. If not salmon pink perhaps apricot. I must consult the fashion guru who is Cost Centre number 1. Is apricot the ‘in colour’ this season? Will we see fungus pink (or apricot) on the cat walk, I wonder.

I finished off with a soft focus of a flower that I ought to be able to identify. We have 2 of them growing in the garden so next time Marco the Gardner arrives I shall ask him to remind me what it is I bought 4 years or so ago. Here it is:

Soft focus bloomMy recollection was that it was planted for its evening fragrance. Generally however the local evening fragrance is that of barbecue sauce and semi-charred chunks of prime beef. The neighbours do seem to like their barbies.

I am also feeling oddly good about Facebook today. It is slowly morphing from a meaningless chain of pictures of what my pals have eaten or are about to eat into a sort of news feeder with some rather spiffing photography thrown in. My latest addition is the page of Science Daily. I do use a ‘proper’ news feed called Feedly. My FB site seems to be 100% devoid of adverts. I am not sure why or how unless it is the Social Fixer software I downloaded.

And that is about it. Mrs. Ha is off to her second Korean lesson tomorrow. All week I have heard not Mozart or Beethoven but Seoul music, Mrs. Ha practising her Korean consonants and vowels. Sadly I have to confess it sounds rather like a gorilla suffering from constipation but I sure it means something in Busan. Oh and if anybody can identify the apricot, pink fungus I’d be much obliged. Evening all.

 

 

20 thoughts on “I’m a fan.

  1. Well, Andrew, I had a looksee at Dave Goulson’s Sting in the Tale, and the reviews (plus yours ) were fantastic. and in doing so read up about him and his much needed work gaining insight of that hard worker the Bumblebee… many thanks for the link, ..and I’m afraid I can’t help name wise, with the Apricot (gorgeous) coloured fungi, but if that’s the ‘in’ colour I’m all for it… IN fact I was hoping someone else had commented with the info , and I could jump on t’bandwagon. (Like school , putting up my hand , knowing full well I had no answer, but just for the look of things!!) …but as I am now grown up, ( 😉 ) I freely admit to my lack of knowledge…. So I shall depart, taking my deflated ego with me. Sigh!!! 🙂 xPenx.

    • Pen, the book is well worth reading. Would you believe that they trained sniffer dogs to find bees nests. Its exactly how science should be communicated – I’m convinced children would lap this up a lot more than cutting up a bull’s eye (which we had to do) or a frog.

      • UUUUrk!! Never had to do that myself Andrew, good job too, or I’d have been in need of the sick bag… I once had an idea to be a Vet…. thankfully I came to my senses, as even the sight of bood makes me queazy, … “sorry Sir, the vet’ll be conscious in a minute!!” 😉 xx

  2. Wow! You’ve made the fungus look as beautiful as the flower. I would be happy to be presented with a bouquet of apricot-hued fungi by my beloved. Can’t help you with the name, but have fun working your way through Volume II of ‘Mushrooms I Have Known and Loved’.

    • I’m sure Michael will be happy to oblige. I’ll remind him next time I bump into him. Fungi for the Beloved. Sounds familiar…….. Byron?

  3. As a special service to a friend, we’ll advise FB that you are not receiving any adverts and ask them to fix that..

    🙂

  4. Fancy fungi and the color is delicate and subtle. My favorite is the soft focus flower. Quite lovely. Excellent rendition.

    Do you like Face Book? I have yet to sign up but it seems just about all bloggers use Twitter and Face Book as a means to getting views/readers/subscribers.

    • Yvonne, if you are not on Facebook then I would stay off! I get very little traffic from FB to my blog and have more or less stopped linking. It does have its uses if you want it to get readers then I think you will be disappointed. Although I use it I don’t like their stance on privacy (same with G+) but it is notionally at least free. It is really a barter system. You access their platform and they mine, store and sell your data. Others of course may disagree!

  5. Can’t hel with naming the beautiful fungus. The flower looks has a faintly Magnolia look to me, but there is not much to go on without scale or foliage. I know what you mean about bees. I stood still ofr a whole minute this morning, just thrilled with the buzzing after the winter.

    • First prize to you, Hilary. It is Magnolia Figo, Michelia figo. We knew the Chinese name and Google Translate did the rest. Yes, bees are a wonderful tonic after a long winter.

  6. Port wine Magnolia. I remember her well. Many years ago I took her to a movie ‘ King Solomon’s Mine.’ I shouted her a malted milkshake afterwards. The memory is still a bit soft as well. Perhaps her name was Magna?

  7. You goal may have been to photograph things that don’t move much. What you did was take some moving photographs, Andrew. Especially the group of four fungi; I was enchanted by the upside down one, and the metaphor for setbacks and continuing beauty.

    • The upside down one was fortunate, Marylin as it is rarely possible to identify a fungus solely from a top view – you need to look at the underside / gills too. I photographed it as found and it saved me having to pick one although doing so does no harm. I liked seeing the different stages of the lifecycle.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

