Lulu Bulletin

Lulu is a bit of a prima donna at home. She can be decidedly difficult. She suffers from all sorts of neuroses, her separation anxiety being especially bad. Take her to the vet however and she is all sweetness and light. Her temperament would gain her access to the celestial city without a doubt. I am not sure I would remain so calm if they took my temperature like that. Same again today. The wonderful Dr. Tint, a man who radiates placidity, did all sorts of tests on her. At one point she was hopping on one leg. Then left legs only. Next the right legs only. (She may have a future as a circus dog if she can do that on her own). She was squeezed, poked and prodded in a manner only a (wo)man of medicine can get away with. Still she remained serene and smiling. Or was that pent-up wind? Finally Dr. Tint said that Lulu was making progress. Another month or so of enforced rest, steroids and a painkiller if needed and then she would be firmly on the mend. Her slipped disc in the neck was improved.

We had one sad incident. A local lady had brought her dog in and it seemed it needed an operation, without which it would probably die. They would try antibiotics but really the dog needed an op. The cost was HK$7,000. It seemed she did not have the money and the dog would not have the op. Quietly I told Dr. Tint that if he would lower the fee for the dog’s op I would make up the difference, up to 50%. He was only willing to do this if the woman consented. Shirley discreetly spoke to her but the woman insisted it was not the cost. She simply did not want the dog to undergo the operation. It was only 6 years old. I wonder if it was true. I hate to think of a companion not being given the opportunity for a longer and better life.

To sate the desires of Lulu’s fan club, here is a picture from last year:

Lulu's eye

Oh, my princess!! A dog in a million. Thank heavens.

The weather today was officially described by the HK Observatory as ‘crap’. Sudden and torrential downpours interspersed with a few minutes of drizzle. So I could not have gone out even if we had not been taking Princess Lulu to the vet. So I went back to 2011 for a 20th May photo. Here it is: Night shopping.

Night Shopping

My catalogue keeps reminding me of the wonderful weather we have had in May in recent years. Lots of lovely bug photos. This year is a washout. I think I shall spend tomorrow helping Lulu with her “dancing on 1, 2 or 3 legs’ routine. There’s money in them there legs.

Skip, skip, skip to the Lou,

Skip, skip, skip to the Lou,

Skip, skip, skip to the Lou,

Skip to the Lulu, my darlin’.

 

 

21 thoughts on “Lulu Bulletin

  1. Excellent news that Lulu is improving and the prognosis looks good, Andrew. If the two of you develop a routine, I do think the video capability of your 5D3 should be put to the test. 😀
    It is too bad to hear about the other dog’s potential demise. Maybe the lady had a bad experience with an operation in the past. It is hard to fathom letting your pet go that way. Especially if it is just her pride holding sway here.
    Have a nice day with the princess. 🙂

    • I honestly don’t think it was that she did not value the dog, Steve. She had paid for scans etc so I’m sure she would have let the dog have the op if it were not for cost. So probably yes, pride got in the way. We were told a back operation for Lulu would cost HK$30-40,000 with a high risk of her not surviving. Most people can not contemplate even a few thousand for such treatment and few have insurance. Its very sad.

  2. What a ridiculously amusing man you are, Andrew Hardacre ! 😀
    How does a tiny dog get a slipped disk in her neck ? Was it you trying to make her dance in a tutu on her hind legs while watching you over her shoulder …?
    That nighttime shot of the market contains a shitload of plastic: is this in case of the kind of downpour of which you write ?

    • Plastic is a huge problem in HK, M.R. We have 3 landfills, all almost full and nobody wants them expanded. One is close to a residential area. There have been arguments going on for years about incinerators – cost, type, location etc. They are about to experiment with waste charging but there is little recycling here and it is a disposable society. Many goods have built in obsolescence. My first washing machine lasted 20 years. Now they have a life expectancy of 3-5. Mad. You do have to pay for plastic bags in shops now which has helped but it is the tip of the iceberg. Food waste is shocking where so many are struggling to feed their families. Lulu in a tutu? I should cocoa! No, no no!

  3. Thank goodness for the news. Dogs do get slipped discs by doing wild Lambadas with dogs that are larger. That would not be easy for the size that Lulu is. I would try and encourage her to go for a little walk making sure she avoids the rat-snake or large nasty birds..
    The B/W photo is what I always thought HK was about.
    Lovely shot of Lulu.

    • Thanks Gerard. We have a python problem near us now. One took a 30kg dog at the weekend. Lulu is only 2.2kg. She won’t be allowed near predatory pythons, that’s for sure.

  4. Lulu is definitely a cutie! I think all well-loved animals eventually become high maintenance over time.
    I have a friend who used to be a vet. She loves animals but couldn’t stand dealing with their stupid, mean-spirited owners. I guess that’s the part they don’t teach you in school. Anyone can have a pet – or children for that matter – regardless of whether they are caring and responsible or not.

    • Thanks Joanne. There are plenty of pet lovers in HK – sadly there are also a few bad souls who abandon or abuse dogs. There is a campaign to deal with the many feral dogs but it is a lengthy job.

  5. Great news about Lulu’s progress! I do hope she can tolerate yet another month of enforced rest to be fully on the mend. Shame about the other dog owner. Passive abuse/cruelty, like this latest trend of parents refusing to immunise their children.
    As usual, wonderful images in your post!

  6. Good to hear Lulu is properly on the mend. Incredible generosity towards the other dog and dog owner. Like to think I would do the same but that would need to be tested in the laboratory of experience. As you say; sad outcome.

    • Thanks Simon. It seemed the right thing to do. Each according to his means. I would rather distribute my money my way than rely on the government to get it right!

  7. LuLu is adorable. I’m smiling that she perks up when she goes to the vet. Our sheltie hurt his leg in an accident; it was the weekend and we had to take him to an emergency clinic. The moment the new vet walked in, Chel jumped up and started walking fine. The doctor laughed, saying animals sometime even walked without limping–survival instinct, he called it–if a stranger came in the dogs didn’t want to appear weak or vulnerable, so they endured the pain instead.

    • That’s fascinating Marylin. I didn’t know they could do that. Lulu has been better again today. I hope we will see continuous improvement. She certainly has a good appetite.

  8. I was worried about Lulu and so I popped by before having my evening shower – normally, I catch up with blog in the morning 😉
    So happy to hear that she is doing fine!!! Fingers crossed she will be all well again soon. Die Geschichte mit dem anderen Hund ist einfach nur traurig. Mich hätte es für den Rest des Tages hinunter gezogen 😦
    Looking forward to more good news about your darling!

  9. Princess Lulu indeed. She is getting more good wishes than the Queen.

    So glad she is responding well to treatment.

    What a thoughtful and generous offer you made to the other dog owner on behalf of her dog. It’s sad that the offer wasn’t accepted

    We helped someone with a puppy once. It had picked up a serious virus. Only transfusions could help it. Prognosis was not good even with transfusions.

    It was a long and expensive weekend! But how can you let a puppy die without trying. It survived. Unfortunately the owner lived a street life then and some months later the puppy was stolen.

    The ice finally departed the lake this weekend. I hope to post about the ice crystals. The birds are back! Maybe summer will come after all

    Great BW shot. Keep dancing!

  10. My best wishes for Lulu. It was not good to hear about the other dog. I often wonder why people have pets since they obviously have no heart for them. At least princess Lulu is lucky that way.

  11. That face! Oh how I adore your Princess Lulu. I would be like putty in her paws if she were my dog. I can quite understand why you spoil her. Our ‘Col isn’t a patch on Lulu in the beauty stakes but he still manages to con us in to doing just what he wants. I’m very happy to hear that she’s on the mend, what a relief. (Sorry I’m so late in leaving a comment, I’ve had a house full of guests and I’ve also been away for a couple of days)

    • I’m glad you are getting visitors now, Lottie. It must be quite isolated even with such lovely neighbours. I’m sure Colin does his best to keep you busy.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

