In which a lion is on the rampage in Sai Kung

Yesterday was a tricky day. I had to visit my cardio and my holter results were none too good. My heart rate peaked at 196 and my average over 24 hours was 99. Now we start the balancing act of trying things to get rid of the A-Fib and ultimately it may be a pacemaker job. I shall call it Gerry. You’ll never beat alone.

Today however I felt better and I decided to wander into town. Quite by chance I discovered there was a festival going on. It started at the temple so I guess it is related to the goddess Tin Hau. I wanted to experiment with my new 10-24mm WA zoom – thats a full frame equivalent of 15- 36mm. Not ideal subject matter but I thought I’d give it a whirl.

Here are the results including some rather nifty “kung fu’ dance displays by the seniors. Number 2 and I exchanged broad grins at the end of his turn. He put everything into it and I think he would have loved a pair of blue suede shoes.

Kunf fu2

Kung fu dance

Kung fu3

Kung fu4

The lion is always the central figure unless of course its a dragon. He tried to stare me down but you don’t scare me Mr. Lion! I knew your relative, Lenny.Lion

Actually he couldn’t even frighten the children!

Liongirl

In fact he was quite a jolly lion.

DSCF1018

Some onlookers were a little less enthused so they ended up in B&W.

lookout

And finally I wended my way home along the seafront path, looking North. Overcast but no rain. It was a decent enough morning. All afternoon I have heard a Plaintive Cuckoo calling very close by but I have failed to find it. If it poses later on I shall post it. A happy weekend to one and all.

SK shore

 

 

 

32 thoughts on “In which a lion is on the rampage in Sai Kung

  1. Enjoyed the vibrancy of the colourful street scenes and the tranquility of the monochromes.
    Good studies.
    Good luck with the AF, will they give you the “40,000 volts” (MPFC parrot sketch) before a ‘Gerry’. They got me back into rhythm at the second attempt,still ticking properly after 3 years (touch wood).An ornithology question do cuckoos, of one type or another, occur worldwide?
    Thanks again for the interesting blogs.

    • Thanks Geoff. I look forward to being zapped if it really works! Cuckoos are old world birds but in the Americas there are parasitic equivalents (I guess) called Cowbirds. So yes, they are pretty much global citizens in one form or another.

  2. Hope you get your heart beats down and more regular Andrew. I like all of the photos .The Kung fu looks a bit like doing Tai chi. Somehow the black and white are more atmospheric.

  3. Andrew had no idea of your ticker problems, what can one say but all the best. My brother has had stents, beginning at age 54; and is rather miffed that my cardio told me that I had the heart of a horse and wanted to swap.

    Great photos, I thought they were Tai Chi at first (I always check the photos before reading).

    Keep on ticking… ah clicking, ah, do both! 🙂

    AV

    • Bamboo scaffolding is the norm in HK, Hilary. It looks (and probably is) extremely risky but it has been in use for as long as people can recall and I see little sign of things changing.

  4. hope they can sort your cardio issues. like the b/w picture with the old guy (right) on bamboo scaffolding. he has a natural cigarette holder in his lower incisors:) the guy in the middle looks like one not to be messed with

  5. Sorry to read about your AF. I hope it doesn’t come to Gerry and you becoming one with each other. In the meantime, I hope you are on an anticoagulant!
    Nice images from the festival! Had a laugh at the expressions of the unenthusiastic onlookers. Have a wonderful weekend, too.

      • Independent of resolution and other technical considerations, i find primes are always better because they force you to think creatively, whereas zooms tend to make me lazy. 🙂

      • Thats true, Alessandro but I have been waiting for 6 weeks for the prime and we go on holiday soon. I have nothing that will do wide architectural shots. Beggars can’t be choosers.

  6. Good wishes for whatever it takes to bring the heart rate down a bit. Our cuckoos seem to have come and gone already. They were very noisy for a week or so but I’ haven’t heard anything for a fortnight. Two or three years since I actually saw one.

    • Cuckoos are surprisingly elusive to see. We have various sorts here but none sits out in the open. I occasionally see them in flight but I’m still waiting for a nice garden perch shot! The heart is apparently a bit more stable now thanks. The tablet are working. So far.

  7. A wonderful combination of activity and audience in these photographs, Andrew. Your numbers may be off, but your creativity is right on. Still, I wish you the best in getting it all under control.

  8. Not much better things for a photog. come along, eh, Andrew ? – although as far as I know you might have them weekly. Great pic.s !
    As to the rest, no need for me to comment. You know my mind on this. Passen Sie auf sich auf.

  9. The lion (dragon) does look rather friendly. Very vibrant. But my favourite to day is the beach walk view. Very striking. I’ve been on pills for AF for about 14 years now. The beta blocker seemed to get everything back to sinuous rhythm and reasonable pace ok. Hope that option is open for you.
    I hadn’t realized cowbirds were similar to cuckoos, is it just their nest stealing, egg dumping behaviour that is the similarity. Off to check my Sibley.

    It’s a North American field guide. Very helpful volume and quite recent.

    • AF is a lot more common than I realised Rod. I’m not sure what my tablets are – maybe beta blockers – but they are working so far. I think Yvonne has posted better info on N American cuckoos. She is very knowledgable about birds.

  10. Those Docs will get you sorted, don’t you worry. They’ve got shiny pills for everything these days. You’ll be up and dancing with the rest of ’em on the streets, showing off your natty moves. In fact you might even have to take a turn on lion duty once they get you fixed.

    I’ve heard lots of cuckoos but not seen one. They’re up to no good I reckon…..
    Lovely, fun photos. A glimpse of life in your neck of the woods 😀

    • I’ve never had natty moves, Lottie. But I’m up for lion duty. Cuckoos are always up to no good. Ask a reed warbler. You probably get orioles where you are too, I’ll be bound.

  11. I really like the “never beats alone.” Very funny. I’ll pass that on to my cardio MD.

    Enjoyable pic of the dancers and an interesting celebration.

    We have the Yellow-Blled Cuckoo and the Black-Billed Cuckoo in North America and these are not parasitic. The cowbird is the culprit and in some areas the state wildlife system and volunteer groups trap the cowbird and these are humanely destroyed so that species that are in dire straits can make a come back. Such is the case in Michigan where the Kirkland Warbler is now about to come off the endangered species list, all because of human intervention through controlled burning of the jack pine and trapping of the cowbird.

      • Well it looks as if I must eat my words. I thought that I had better do some research and that my memory has apparently gotten rusty.

        The North American Cuckoo does lay eggs in other birds nests but as far as I can tell not to the extent as that of the cowbird which is exclusively parasitic.

        I have copied some info from a bird site on Google and below is what I found. I’m so sorry to have made a gross mistake with info re” the cuckoo.

        Yellow-billed cuckoos are also nest parasites, and may affect the reproductive success of species that they parasitize. Some yellow-billed cuckoos parasitize other birds by laying eggs in their nests. They may lay eggs in the nest of other yellow-billed cuckoos, or in the nests of other bird species, including black-billed cuckoos, American robins, gray catbirds and wood thrushes. If the parasitized parents raise the foreign young, their own chicks may be less likely to survive or flourish. (Hughes, 1999)

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

