Pipe dreams dashed

Sometimes I need a reminder why we live here. Here it is:

Sunriseglow

So why, you may muse, do I need this reminder. Well this rather peaceful scene contains a fair amount of water.

Suomenlinna2

Sadly we don’t have any at the moment. Without any warning our supply has been cut off. All over the town. It is not we who have omitted to pay our bill or anything obvious like that. The whole town has been excommunicated. Except Lee, who claims to be on a bore hole. Lucky Lee. Nobody knows why. The ill-termed Help Line informs us that it may be back on by midnight. Perhaps. Fingers crossed behind my back. Actually, I’m sorry I haven’t a Clue.

So it is 35 Celsius, 95% RH and the kids are coming home from school covered with the usual patina of school day grime. The dads are probably heading to a bar to check they have water and the mums are wondering how they can cook tonight. Sorry for the stereotyping but that is pretty much how it is. Even the restaurants are sans eau. And we may soon be reduced to using the bird bath, which I had thoughtfully filled earlier. Bugger! Its evaporated…….. where else can I find water? Lulu’s water fountain may need to be plundered. Is a dog like a camel? Can it go weeks without water? We may soon find out.

The WD (Water Department) seems to be adopting a policy of if they have no mains water let them bathe in San Pellegrino. That should put the fizz back in their lives.

Luckily we were out all morning. We had chores to do in Central. Dentist, doctor, cardio…… all those typical things you do when you are bored and shortly to go on holiday. The cardio seemed pleased with my progress. He charged me over HK$1500 for telling me that and giving me 30 days of double-strength tablets. The dentist charged nothing. The guy is excellent and frankly totally uncommercial. Don’t worry, he said, we are old friends. Just a minor job. Show me your photos when you get back from Portugal. Sometimes I worry for his sanity but he is truly a delightful man. The doctor is also a brick – he sells me my expensive tablets at cost. No mark up because I am retired. Incredible. We squeezed in a quick lunch then had to drive up to Causeway Bay to buy Lulu’s dog biscuits. She is very picky about which ones she likes and we were down to the last couple of days supply of her favourites. Finally we did a good deed and agreed to buy a painting from Cost Centre Number 2’s friend, who is having a rough time. She is a talented artist (as is CC2) and maybe one day our outlay of HK$25,000 will be worth millions. This was negotiated by me from the car as Mrs. Ha was in the driving seat (so no change there). It is rewarding to bring a little happiness into someone’s life so easily. The only argument may be over where the painting should be hung.

And now we have to consider how we are going to eat and shower tonight. Lulu has some fresh dry biscuits she may be prevailed upon to share. There are a few geckos running around. I reckon half a dozen on toast would be a decent snack. If all else fails I think I can survive until tomorrow on a tin of Heinz tomato soup. No added water. Stay tuned.

29 thoughts on “Pipe dreams dashed

  1. Accipicchia, senza acqua è un vero disastro. Spero che ripristino tutto al più presto così non avrete grossi problemi. Molto belle le foto che hai inserito.
    Ciao, Patrizia

  2. Don’t you think Pat’s way of saying “Wow !” is nicer than ours, Andrew ? [grin]
    Yes, beautiful sunset. I can’t indicate properly how much I would DETEST living in a non-anglophonic country when the water/electricity/gas went off …

    • I adore the Italian language, M.R. Its tough when you don’t know a) who to swear at and b) how to swear in their language. It won’t stop me trying though.

  3. You might have to connect water tanks to your guttering for any emergency, Andrew. Apart from that, just use tissues of eau de Cologne here and there. Thank the lord Lulu got her biscuits.

    If all fails, there is always Mozart.

  4. You make it sound exciting Andrew! what a kind dentist. you certainly wouldn’t find that sort of friendship here in Australia. Charming! Have a restful holiday in Portugal.

  5. Stunning sunset! As for the water shortage you have my sympathy. Having lived in Zambia from 1969 – 1987, I have lots of experience of hot weather and periods without water. Hope you are reconnected soon.

    • Ah this was sunrise not sunset. We face due East. I remember walking tobacco farms in Zambia about ten years ago. A lot of the farmers had come from Zim when the ‘Veterans’ forced them out. They used to walk about looking at the sky all the time, wondering if the right amount of rain would come at the right time. A good season meant 3 crops. 2 was the norm. Some built their own reservoirs. It was a tough time.

  6. Your dentist and mine must be related, he steadfastly refuses to charge me. His cousin was an ex-student of mine and we all used to meet up at family BBQs. The doctor however charges an arm and a leg.

    AV

  7. I believe it’s past 2200 hrs there, I hope the water supply has returned and you’re busy rinsing off!
    Very kind of you and Mrs. Ha to help CC2s friend. Good luck deciding where to hang it.
    Have a wonderful time in Portugal!

    • Caroline, we finally have water after 26 hours. We were tricked by a brief restoration after 22 hours and then it promptly went off again. I think our struggling artist is very good but young people in HK simply can’t find the rent or a deposit to buy anything half decent. Everything they earn goes on essentials unless they are very lucky. So if they have a talent I think it should be nurtured. She wanted to put it with an online gallery but they take 30% of any sale. That’s a big commission – almost US$1,000 for her. I believe that what goes around comes around. Just like the dentist who doesn’t charge me – he will reap a reward somewhere else.

  8. No water is the worst! I can handle no electricity many times better than no water. I confess I would be in full panic meltdown within the first hour.
    Best wishes for a speedy recovery of water services and a safe, happy time in Portugal!!

    • Thanks Joanne. We went without for 26 hours. I told the water board that if we did not have water within 2 hours I was booking into a hotel and sending them the bill. They seemed rather taken aback!

  9. Uh, no water at all? And there aren’t huge trucks parked everywhere delivering water to you all? It’s like a chapter in a Stephen King or Dean Koontz book.
    Leave several faucets turned all the way “on” tonight.
    Fingers crossed that you’ll wake up to loud sounds of water filling your tub and a sink or two. But as we were instructed after a main pipe broke and it two 8 hours to be fixed, let the water run for awhile, and be sure there’s not hint of discoloration or graininess, and then let it run for awhile more before you use any.

    • There were some water tanks, Marylin but they ran out very swiftly. 26 hours later we had water again. It started as black sludge. I thought we’d struck oil 🙂

  10. Gee, I’d be mad as a wet hen with no water. I hope you have botteld water on hand. I always have a couple of cases of Ozarka spring water for drinking. I’d be totally lost with no water.

    The pic sunset at the harbor is beautiful. Sounds great that your MD gave you a good report. I’m assuming that the afib problem is much much better with more energy, since you and Ms. Ha are planning a trip to Portugal. I’m happy to learn of this good news.

    • We had some bottled water, Yvonne bit only for drinking. We managed to get a few buckets too but not enough. I hope the trip to Portugal will be leisurely. We booked 9 months ago so I don’t want to back out now.

  11. No water is pretty bad, Andrew. We’ve never experienced that. No hot water yes and the cold shower made up for quite a collection of sins I think.
    Image number one is a wow. I hope you are sitting up there at every opportunity. What a lovely sight.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

