Insect-icide

Death by insect bites.

I was out and about this afternoon testing my new super duper beta blockers. The other meds have been binned. Too many side effects. I wanted to see if I could tackle the hill behind the house. A slow climb it was but I plodded my way up without too much of the Brian Blessed over-zealous, drama-queen antics and nary an ‘Om Mani Padme Hum‘, with which he seems to intersperse his climbs. I made it to base camp quite easily. And here are a few of the snaps I took as I made my way up.

The first illustrates again that moths can be just as gaudy as butterflies.

Corymica arnearia

Corymica arnearia

This gecko has – look carefully – spines on its tail but I am still trying to confirm its ID. It was way above my head on the inside roof of a shelter.

Hemidactylus brookii?

Hemidactylus brookii?

No idea what is in here.

IMGL5185

A mosquito snacking on something other than me for a change.

Mosquito snacking

Mosquito snacking

This is a common as muck dragonfly.

Orthetrum glaucum

Orthetrum glaucum

And here is the pièce de résistance, a horse fly. Isn’t it a corker? Almost as big as a (small) horse. The committee is still debating what species it is but one suggestion is Tabanus striatus.  I love its stripey eyes. I bet that could give you quite a nip.

Tabanidae sp.

Tabanidae sp.

Tabanidae sp.

Tabanidae sp.

And with that I shall retire for the evening. We had no water again last night so fingers crossed for a water-filled sleep.

27 thoughts on “Insect-icide

  1. Sorry to hear about the water issues – again. Wishing you a future of unlimited fresh water – both hot and cold 🙂
    Your photos prove that there is beauty even in a horse fly. That blue striped helmet on his head is gorgeous. Maybe that’s where cycling manufacturers get their inspiration for bike helmets 😉

  2. You’re an amazing photographer, Andrew. You take a walk to test your beta blockers, and along the way you capture these insects…and a couple of them would make great pod-characters in a sci-fi horror movie.
    Excellent!

  3. Your horsefly is a very handsome individual, Andrew. All are fine photographs, but Diptera equinuus is the winner of the lot. I can also say from experience that a bite from one of these leaves a noticeable void on the epidermis.
    I hope the new BB does the trick. The ease with which you did the climb may indicate a positive side effect. 🙂

  4. So many crrepy-crawlies here and all are great shots. I must be honest. I am not partial to any insects other than butterflies and well, I reckon dragon flies will do.

    I’m glad the beta blocker seems to be agreeing with you. Don’t get too rambunctous! 🙂

  5. All the best for the BB’s working without too many side effects.
    Very nice series of images. I can’t believe I’m writing this, but the horsefly eye was beautiful.
    No water again! Outrageous.
    I thought you and Mrs. Ha were on your way to Portugal. Hope you are well enough to go and have a wonderful time!

    • Flying tonight Caroline. I hope it’s a smooth trip. I’m not used to going with a group. A bit apprehensive. I’m normally an independent traveller.

  6. i wouldn’t know a corking horsefly if it landed on me, but i like that lizard shot. i wonder what the mossie is getting to grips with?

  7. A very impressive and varied set Andrew. The first bears a strong resemblance to the British Brimstone moth, bar the “cut out” wings. A fearsome looking horsefly with super looking stripes on the eyes. Glad to hear that the meds seem to be promising at this point.

  8. Lots of nice insects in your recent posts Andrew. Many really beautiful ones like the dragonfly or the gecko but the Horse fly looks like a perfect team member for the Portuguese team: nasty 🙂 Sorry 😉 =D

  9. It is possible to be a bit nervous but most of all I like a natural history lesson. And the new blog design is nice, I just misse the Like-button. It sometimes come in quite handy, on days when there are no more words awailable..

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

