Colour photography

Some countries bellow ‘colour’ at you through a megaphone. India is a great example. I have learned working with Gary Tyson of F8 Photography how powerful the right colours can be. When I wander with my camera I much more sensitive to the impact of vibrant colours. I often find them in unexpected places.

One morning we were shuttled off to Castelo Rodrigo with the usual laundry list of must see sights beckoning. I think I missed all of them. The guide was trying to draw me towards the centre of the village where, rather worryingly, was to be found an ancient pillory. And on the map a little further on, the ominous sign for a Prison House. I suspected a plot. Remember, remember, the 20th June……

So I, Mrs. Ha and our fellow hooky player quietly fell back from the quacking pack of ducklings and explored the lesser publicised areas of downtown Castelo Rodrigo. Here are a few colour punches from our ramble.

Broken door Purple door

Plant

I love the tiled roofs, the gorgeous ochre (?), so easily overlooked.

The Village of Castelo RodrigoColour is everywhere:Frames

Logjam

Patio de Castelo

You simply need to keep your eyes off Mrs. Duck and steer clear of the junk handicraft shops. What struck us all was the gardens. Every home seemed to have a Chelsea Flower Show potential winner, probably in the best wildlife garden category. Magnificent hydrangea macrophylla, fruit bushes and for me the enveloping surround sound of birdsong, most notably the Serin. Even the humble House Sparrow, Passer domesticus seemed driven to serenade us, if a spadger can do such a thing.

Sadly the experience was timed out and Jemima Puddleduck called us all to order so we could quack and waddle our way back to the cruise boat. At least I had had my Colour-fix for the day (one of the lesser known Gauls). Thank you Castelo Rodrigo.

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Colour photography

  1. Your photographs are a vivid combination of the natural and the delightful constructed…especially the key in the lock of the old door. These are stunning, Andrew.

  2. All the colors look great, Andrew. But you probably know the main attraction for me…I believe that is a mullein flower and it is quite lovely with those pretty little orange stamens projecting out to the bees of Portugal.
    And, of course, the wood heat guy likes that nice pile of logs a lot too. 🙂

  3. A lovely selection of photos, my favourite would have to be the first one. That yellow lichen kind of growth on the stone really pops out in combination with the orange framing. On the other hand, I don’t see many fushia doors 🙂

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

