Sunrise with the Fujifilm X-T1

I guessed we would have a decent sunrise this morning and I was right.

I am still working out what the X-T1 can do and can’t do. I started shooting at 5am and to be honest the X-T1 was struggling to focus. There was little contrast in the sky. I went fully manual but the shutter speeds at low ISO were still very slow (30s) and I was getting blurring in the clouds. Nice when you want it but I didn’t on this occasion. I moved up to ISO 400 and it wasn’t long before the sun was pushing up close enough to the horizon to give me much better contrast. In the end I took 60 frames but probably only 2 or 3 will survive. This is my favourite. This was back to ISO 200, F11, 1/3s shot with my 18-55mm kit lens wide open at 18mm. The original file was in RAW and I processed it in Lightroom 5.5.

Sunrise over Sai Kung

Sunrise over Sai Kung

There is some shadow detail and that is probably about what the eye was seeing, maybe a little less. By 05.30 the show was over. Thank goodness I couldn’t sleep. The best part of the day may have passed.

I love the Fuji colours and I love our view. Time to catch up on a few zzzzz’s now before breakfast.

16 thoughts on “Sunrise with the Fujifilm X-T1

    • I don’t see it at 1:1 on my screen Steve but it may be there. I have not done any NR. I might run it through Define and see if it picks any up. I might print this.

      • If you aren’t seeing it at 100% then whatever there might be will be minimal. Excellent that the newer cameras are finally addressing noise. My 5D2 drives me crazy in the shadows with some awful pattern noise which, I believe, Ms. Schaenzer may have mentioned. 🙂

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

