Moth eaten

Stay in Hong Kong for a while and you are sure to meet Lyssa zampa. About the size of my hand, this moth is very common and often flies by day. This one was hanging in our Frangipani tree, which any self-respecting horticulturist will note is suffering from some form of rust.

Lyssa zampa

Lyssa zampa

Look at the rear wings and you can see one has considerable damage. I suspect a bird has tried to catch this moth. This is a classic example of a moth that is so common that I assumed I must have plenty of shots of the species. I found very few. It is a common mistake to ignore the common stuff.

Here is a head shot from a while back and note also the beautiful patterning along the edge of the wing.

Lyssa zampa

And to show another example of a moth sporting tail streamers, this time without damage, here is Ourapteryx clara. ย Not quite the size of LZ but still impressive.

Ourapteryx clara

Ourapteryx clara

I hope you like moths ๐Ÿ™‚

25 thoughts on “Moth eaten

  1. Three beautiful moth shots Andrew and I think we are all guilty of overlooking the common ones ๐Ÿ˜‰ you last shot is very similar to the UK’s Swallow tailed moth (Ourapteryx sambucaria), – one of my favourites

    • It can be if you get hit in the face by one ๐Ÿ˜‰ They can be a bit flappy and clumsy. Not for those who fear moths tangled in their hair – Mrs. Ha for instance.

    • And there was I hoping you would advise me on how to treat the rust on my Frangipani. Someone suggested a spray of water / condensed milk solution. Sounds awful. But is does look like a bat, doesn’t it.

      • I’m not always ‘on the job’ and miss horticultural things when I’m reading sometimes!!

        Ick, no! No, not spray milk on the tree… I’m all for organic or ‘homemade’ remedies, however, they must hold some merit. If you douse it with milk, it will be covered with lichen in no time! And probably smell pretty bad also!!

        Rusts aren’t easy to get rid of. You must be diligent and consistent with your treatments, if you choose to treat. Most rusts like Coleosporium plumeriae Syn. C. domingense (frangipani rust) are aesthetically displeasing, however not fatal. How large is the tree? Might be too large to treat?

        Rusts are fungal diseases and are treated prophylacticly, or sprayed before the fungus infects the plant. It seems the recommendations I’ve found suggest a fungicide that contains sulfur, copper or mycobutanil. If you want to be organic, I’d try a Bordeaux mixture (hmm, lost my link in the comments.. you’ll have to search it). The next thing to figure out is when to spray… You can guess – figure about 2 weeks before your spring rainy season, or better yet, figure out the phenological trigger plant for when to spray. I do not know where you might find that info, I am lucky enough to have a scientist that wrote a book about my area on this topic.

        You can also take other measures like: clean up fall leaves and take away, make sure there is good ventilation and lastly, be sure the tree is not stressed in other ways.
        If you truly want to treat, I will try to find a trigger plant for you, let me know. =-)

      • The tree is about 12-15′ tall. Quite mature. We clear up the leaves each day. Our old gardener wanted to spray it but he didn’t really say what it was. Chemicals from China that I would not allow. I don’t want the birds and bugs dying too. We have 6 months before the Spring rains. One concern is that next door has a similar tree and problem. I wondered if it would simply reinfect ours. I can confirm that the condensed milk spray smells foul.

      • I’d go with Bordeaux spray. No bugs or birds will die unless you spray them directly! Even then, not really a deadly chemical. IF you spray well, and with precise timing, the neighbor tree will not affect yours.

  2. Interesting collection of moths I’ve never seen before! I like the aerodynamic look of the last one and it’s size certainly seems impressive compared to the tiny insect below it.

  3. Beautiful moths. What is the surface the last one is on? It looks a bit muddy.
    Raining very hard here. No excursions possible ๐Ÿ˜ฆ May have to write a blog post.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

