The Fujifilm X-T1’s digital Velvia

One of the options on many newer digital cameras is to add a ‘filter’ of sorts. Some of these replicate a film-look. The X-T1 offers a range including Astia, Provia and the much-loved Velvia. I used to shoot with Velvia for its saturated colours. The camera gives you two options. You can shoot a jpeg and apply the filter as you shoot. It is then fixed. Alternatively you can shoot RAW and apply any of the filters in processing. That is the method I adopt. It gives me more choice. These are not filters in the sense of screwing a piece of glass onto the front of the lens. They are applied either in camera or processing and can be anything from a fish-eye effect to swapping colours. Some do replicate putting a coloured filter on a lens so you can elect to have a black and white file with a red, orange, yellow or whichever filter is available from the menu. Change skin tones, sky colours etc at your will. I rarely use these but I do sometimes use the digital neutral density filter on the Fuji X100s.

Here are some examples of what digital Velvia looks like today.

Detail

Dragon Urn 2

DragonUrn

Figure Detail

Supports

The dragons on the urn are shot using the amazing 56mm F1.2 Fujinon lens. I was at F1.4 and F1.8. Mrs. Ha’s reaction was that they look like files from the M9 and that is always her benchmark. The 4th image is the same lens wide open. I love it.

And to round off, a simple monochrome image. Everybody can get tired of too much saturated colour and this lady is clearly no exception.

Tired

14 thoughts on “The Fujifilm X-T1’s digital Velvia

  1. Vibrant for sure. so many exciting ways to work your magic when photographing. I think I like the monochrome here for it gives me something to study while trying to figure out what in the world could the woman be doing in this odd stanch.

  2. I really enjoy the Fuji calibration profiles. Frankly, I’m enjoying the whole Fuji color palette. Thanks for sharing these photos Andrew,

  3. Love all of the coloured images! The red is especially captivating.
    My first thought when viewing your monochrome image was, “OMG, she’s feeling so much despair!” I thought the portraits behind her were part of a remembrance shrine of sorts. I may be way off base, but that’s what’s so wonderful about photography, personal interpretations.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

