Are we nearly there yet?

When we visited my grandmother in Llanbradach there was a point at which I always wailed to my parents: are we nearly there yet? This was known as ‘the green railings’ and I think it was near Pontllanfraith. Nowadays my travel takes me further afield and sometimes I can remind myself of what lies ahead by looking at the back catalogue of photos. I have long since lost my parents and sadly they can no longer tell me that we are only 20 minutes away from Granny’s house or 3 days from Venice, via Doha. I wonder if there are any green railings in Doha.

I whiled away some time today looking at images from our last visit in 2008. Here are just a few reminders of what lies down the canal.

Lamps

MorningBW

Ponte deiBareteri

StMark

Servizio gondolieri

 

12 thoughts on “Are we nearly there yet?

  1. How exciting! Have a wonderful time. Looking forward to reading about your adventures and viewing your images. This may sound odd, but I pack an extra lens cap in my bag. I seem to have extra fumbly fingers on holidays dropping and losing the lens cap.

    • Caroline, I can’t find the original ones let alone an extra one. What I really want is a decent filter folder but I can’t find what I’m looking for.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

