A Venetian Miscellany

Today a few images that don’t fit any special theme but I think deserve a show. Let’s start with some doors. Ornate……..

CockreldoorOr plain.BluedoorsI’m not 100% sure where I took these but I think it was around here:

ViaGaribaldiDoesn’t that take the biscuit? And doors must not be confused with shutters.

Window Shutters

You have seen plenty of images of the Rialto Bridge I am sure. How often do you see it this empty? Only before 7am for sure.Rialto emptyAnd finally the power of Art. When Paolo Caliari (Paolo Veronese) filled in the last of his gargantuan painting by numbers works in April 1573, little did he think that it would still be having an overpowering effect in 2014. The Feast in the House of Levi was a Last Supper. I half expected them all to be wearing denim jeans but no. This is a splendid old master as almost centre stage is a dog. In the background it looks like the Empire State Building so I think we can safely assume that Paolo wasn’t too hot on geography. America had only been discovered for 80 years so probably Google Maps were not as accurate in those days. So a really good effort by Paolo all things considered. Maybe a few more dogs next time to push it up a class.FeastinthehouseofLevi

Postscript: I almost forgot this tribute to my favourite Italian photographer:Alessandro

12 thoughts on “A Venetian Miscellany

  1. Oh, the doors and windows of Venice. If you didn’t get distracted by a myriad of other wonders, you could just concentrate on them.

    Veronese like to do things on a grandish scale, didn’t he!

  2. Very nice shots of the doors and windows. Made me think of the group called “The Doors or Dorrs.” British I think but maybe not. Yep or yelp the dog is the best part of that gigantic painting.

  3. Yes, I too was struck by the slump.
    That glorious blue on the doors~ I’ve been trying to duplicate that blue on my garden shed for years and haven’t quite got it. I think it must be the result of years of accretion…

    I am currently reading a book on Mona Lisa, the woman. It gives a marvelous, blood-thirsty history of Florence. Now I know where all the hot-heads in my family come from! Not me, of course.

  4. The folks behind doors number one have a curious sense of style. Catching the Rialto so devoid of human form may cause your photograph to have some value.
    I think the slump may be the result of the knowledge that, as a cartoonist, the person isn’t quite cutting it.

  5. “Garibaldi biscuits – named after the well-known Italian patriot, Luigi Biscuit…”

    (Old “Round the Horne” joke, please forgive me, I should get out more.)

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

