The Royal Palace, Madrid.

I have reached that stage where I am losing track of what has been posted to the blog and what has been posted to Flickr. Today’s selection of images are new to the blog I believe. We visited the Royal Palace in Madrid (Palacio Real de Madrid) one afternoon and enjoyed it. It is still the official residence of the Spanish royal family but they do not do a meet and greet. Outside the rooms you are free to take photos but once inside cameras are rigorously monitored. A few people were given a sharp ticking off for trying to sneak a shot. I was not amongst them. I confined myself to ‘architectural shots’, especially as you can look out to the magnificent catholic cathedral of Santa María la Real de La Almudena. The only challenge? Pesky tourists again.

Almudena Cathedral

Almudena Cathedral, Madrid

RoyalPalaceMadrid

 

_DSF6223

RoyalPalaceceiling

 

The light is a bit iffy inside and one of these shots was taken at a rather wobbly 1/10s. Normally I would use a tripod for such speeds but it isn’t practical in this sort of situation. The lens image stabilisation surely saved the day.

I am slowly working through the files and you may soon be spared the 21st Century equivalent of coming round to dinner to see the holiday snaps. Something to look forward to no doubt.

13 thoughts on “The Royal Palace, Madrid.

  1. Haven’t they … erhmm … what’s the word ? Bugger, it’s gone. Are they still the king and queen ?
    I’ve lost all enthusiasm for Juan Carlos since I found out about his hunting.
    Oh, I’ve just remembered: his son is king, now; so there are still ‘royals’ living there.
    GREAT pictures, Andrew !!!

  2. Nice architecture and the doodads and scratchings on the ceiling are wonderful. B&W number two is outstanding even with all those pesky tourists.

    When I am not sure about whether I have posted an image I do a search for one of the obvious tags, but I don’t see a box for that on the page here.

    • Oh, I forgot to mention the shifted perspective out the doorframe. As well, it seems odd that the architect designed the facade in front of the dome. I am no architectural critic so just an observation and maybe I’ll-informed on my part.

      • I’m not sure about the shifted perspective Steve. I think I positioned myself to one side to exclude an annoying lady dressed in bright red. Damned tourists.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

