Multi-tasking

The last 2 days I feel as if I have been back in full time work, chasing around all over the place. I just have not been paid for anything I have done. Indeed I almost lost the will to live this afternoon as Mrs. Ha spent an hour discussing with a ‘promoter’ (saleswoman) the merits of a steam cleaner for the kitchen, bathrooms, dog etc. And then she asked me if I was interested in paying for it. Well, no. I have no idea why we need yet another labour saving device from Germany when we employ a full time, live-in domestic helper. But she bought it anyway.

The theme of multi-tasking seemed interesting so I looked in the Venice and Madrid/Salamanca files to see if by the remotest chance this sort of thing goes on in Europe. Or could it be purely an Asian phenomenon.

Well the evidence suggests the Europeans do multi-task. There is clearly deep cerebral activity going on here and some urgent life management via smartphone alongside. Multitasking

Multitasking2

Multitasking4The phone seems mandatory but the cigarette and beard are optional extras. Just think, even if as rumoured, Gerald Ford could not walk and chew gum at the same time, a smartphone may have been able to do it for him.

 

22 thoughts on “Multi-tasking

    • I rely heavily on auto correct but sadly it is often more fallible than I. As for speed, well I use the old swooping eagle approach to keyboards.

  1. I think it’s sad, meself. People are unable to live without these ****ing things: their lives are empty !
    Oh: I have just cut my thumb on the edge of a piece of paper, and it is now bleeding on the keyboard. This must be your fault, Andrew …

  2. It was LBJ who slagged off Gerald Ford with the “xxxx and chew gum” remark. I’ve a feeling that the original mentioned a bodily function, rather than walking. But I know this is a polite blog for polite people.

    Yours Faithfully
    Pedantic of Sheung Shui

    • LBJ had a colourful turn of phrase. I believe he it was he who originally talked about it being better to have people inside the tent p***ing out than outside the tent p***ing in.

  3. I am unsure if my kindergarteners will be taught cursive writing in school. But! They will have iPads in the classroom so it’s all right. 😥 So wrong, but they have a not so harsh tiger mom who will teach them cursive anyway.
    As for the steam cleaner, I have heard nothing but negative comments from my friends who used them. Hope your domestic helper has better luck!

      • I would hate to think of so much money wasted if the steam cleaner isn’t good 😦

        Its made by someone called Kärcher and my main objection is that it is yellow. I mean, if you want toys like that they should be Ferrari red to keep me happy.

  4. Having a phone in one’s hand is just a part of being awake now (for many), so counts no more, as an element of multi-tasking, than blinking or breathing. In fact I’m not sure if one of my off spring can actually blink and breathe without checking his phone.

  5. You guys who are not American surprise me knowing what my fellow Texan, Lyndon B. Johnson had to say back then. Also the Gerald Ford thing. Not that I think any of you don’t know how to read or know your history. 🙂 Too funny with all the comments. I found the folks with the cigs in one hand and the cell phone in the other quite amusing. Oh yes, the pics are right up or down my alley.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

