Someday my prints will come………

You voted on my 10 print candidates and I took 4 of them to be printed in ‘intermediate size’. I wanted to look at them again, larger than postcard but not yet as big as I intend to print for framing. I wanted to check colour, dust bunnies, and of course review composition again.

Two printed beautifully.Salutedawn

PlazaMayorSalamanca-2

I tweaked the upper one before printing and I think the latest version is better than what you see here. The watermarks are gone of course. I could see on reprint a couple of motion blurs that look odd and so I shall heal those.

The lower one just looks excellent.

The other two give me problems:

The first prints much better than it looks here with strong shadow detail and a beautiful tone. Bear in mind these are currently going through a 1 hour local photo-lab. Amazing. The problem is the light at the top of the cloister opening near right. It looks as if it is suffering from chromatic aberration, colour fringing. I took this into LR’s Develop Module and examined at 8:1, checked for purple or green fringes and there are none. The dynamic range is fine. It just looks wrong to me. Perhaps it is supposed to flare like that? I don’t like it. So unless somebody can suggest a cure I won’t print this.IMG_2285 The last one prints nicely too but the blues look wrong. This is down to either the lab or my screen being wrongly calibrated.  The sky looks to have a magenta cast. On my screen it looks darker and more contrasty. I may try again with this one but I was disappointed.Salute predawnNevertheless you have found me two images that look really pleasing and I am happy with them. Thank you very much! The screen does not do them justice. For a non DSLR, not even full frame sensor, I would be surprised if you could tell the difference between these and a Leica M9. The Fuji X-T1 has done me proud.

 

27 thoughts on “Someday my prints will come………

  1. The title of your post was uttered by one Sandy Harbutt in an irritated ‘phone-call to Chic, after they had been out shooting for a promo booklet Sandy had Chic put together for his (Sandy’s) feature film called “Stone” – the first feature Chic shot stills one.
    He thought Chic could print up roughly 50 B&Ws overnight. He could’ve, if he didn’t sleep. 🙂

    • Its also a cost issue Gerard 🙂

      If you print large it is expensive and if you only then see all the flaws, magnified in all their horror, well it is money down the drain. But this was an interesting exercise and one I shall do more often.

  2. A really enjoyable exercise, thank you. A good selection too.
    The problem with ‘unnatural’ light to right of pillar , how does it look if you remove it completely by cropping to the next pillar. Should still leave the ‘grill’ at the top in vision.
    You would have to sacrifice some of the bottom of the picture to keep same dimension/scale or simply accept a longer/narrower image which could look good to exentuate the ‘perpendicular’.
    GP

    • Thank you Geoff. I waited to reply until I could try out a crop. It looks better if I lose the bottom of the picture too. I will mull it over. I will upload to Flickr so you can see the result. Much appreciated.

  3. Good choices, Andrew. The light streaming in from the rightmost opening was one reason I did not choose that one. Wicked distracting to my eye, fringing or not. A crop might work, as Geoff has suggested, but I like the balance with a good sized shadow on the right so am not sure. OTOH, I do think there are some who would consider a view of the exterior light to be an asset.

    I don’t see a problem with the blue on my calibrated screen. Colors do take on unusual qualities in low light. It is a very nice shot and should be gracing a wall.

    • Thanks for the feedback Steve. I’ll play with a crop and see if i can make it work. Its a shame though but shows how a bigger print shows up problems that aren’t obvious on the screen.

      • “The negative is the equivalent of the composer’s score, and the print the performance.” – Ansel Adams
        Posting an image on the interweb is one thing, but you can’t beat a print for presenting your images at their best.

      • BTW, I know you are using 1 hour printers right now so not expensive. But if you find that you are making a good number of keepers, then getting your own isn’t terribly expensive up to 13″ paper. Although it can get frustrating getting color and luminosity right, but once you have it dialed in the prints are good.

  4. Glad we could help. Leave it to me, however, to like the problem child…in particular, I am smitten with the cloister. I see what you mean but that only made me like it better. So there you go, just what you might expect from a color splatterer.

  5. I always prefer printing at home as I can tweak the image and then print a strip until it is just right. Of course I have size issues as I can’t make huge prints, but where i do get bigger prints done our screens must have similar calibrations as the colours are not too different.
    With the flaring and the cloister this is distracting but I think it is just natural flaring through the window. To fix it maybe selective contrast and clarity or a whole load of photoshop.

    • Thanks Ben. No to a whole load of PS! But I will try selective contrast reduction. I don’t really have room for a printer at home. I need a bigger house!

  6. You’re not deliriously over the moon over all four of these, Andrew? Obviously not, I read your critique, but allow me to say that were I to take a photograph even approaching the beauty of these, I would become completely insufferable.

  7. Sono fantastiche caro Andrew e sicuramente alla fine tutte e quattro saranno meravigliose stampe. Sono contenta anche perché c’è quella che piace a me, la seconda che hai inserito in questo post.
    Ciao, un grande saluto. Pat

  8. Wow, so many responses to this that I can chime in. The first two are just excellent Andrew. The third looks like a smudge on your lens or a decentred lens. Too bad it needs so much cropping to alleviate this. If you are adept at PS perhaps you could clone that area out. As for the fourth print only you know what the sky and colours look like in reality. I am sure anyone else would be 100% pleased viewing this LE image. Looks like the X-T1 and you have come to terms. Well done Andrew.

    • I am lucky that I know it isn’t a smudge or the lens, Barry as it is unique to this image. But it does look like a drop of vaseline added to give a soft focus effect! Life’s too short to clone a lot. As for the blue, well I can’t remember what it looked like either, as it was constantly changing so maybe it is right. Yes to the X-T1. It is a travel photographer’s dream.

  9. I’m thinking that part of the “mastery” is knowing at what precise moment to lay down the brush. All of your works here are so perfect that they require no additional tweaking at this point. Start looking for that next superb shot!

    • I am an inveterate tweaker. I am always finding something I can tweak. But yes, at some point i must seek out the next target. Thanks for your kind comment.

  10. The last photo is still my favourite and I really love the slight pinkish tinge to the sky (at least that’s what I see on my screen). This photo is a little piece of magic 🙂

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

