Sepia – the golden touch

The success of the sepia rendition of my image of the Plaza Mayor in Salamanca led me to revisit some other images to see if they work in a similar tone. What do you think? The original golden stone lends itself well to this, I think.sepiaconvent

Sepiastonehead2

Sepiastonework

CloistersepiasalamancaThese were all taken at the Convento de las Dueñas. The top and the bottom shots again challenge the photographer with extremes of light and shade. In the final image I have cloned out a CCTV camera from the wall. Ugly.

18 thoughts on “Sepia – the golden touch

  1. I LOVE sepia. That being said, there must be about thirty squillion versions of what ‘sepia’ actually is. Not that I care, mind, Andrew: I find it brings all B&W images into a far nicer place.
    Imnshbaeo. [grin]

  2. At least these days we can push buttons for sepia. I remember printing on sepia-toned paper and going “Aaargh !” in the harsh light of day.

    Of course, none of your images would be “Aaargh !”

  3. The sepia certainly works for me here, Andrew. That hint of gold gives these shots a certain luminosity, like a sense of reflected light, and it makes the architecture feel more welcoming.

  4. I am not usually a fan of toned monochromes and sepia is often done with a heavy hand, but you have given these a light touch and I find it rather pleasing. I like the fourth the best.
    Excuse my lack of classical architectural knowledge, but what the heck is number three?

    • Indeed. Green artistry it is. Very naive. Although we should consider that maybe they are an accurate portrayal of some unfortunate individuals.

  5. Andrew, did you bracket these or ‘fix’ the dynamic range post production? These (ones with the shadows) are what I would call ‘near-impossible’ conditions…and I doff my cap to you.

    • I admit to being happy with the outcome of the first and last shots. That’s a rare admission! I also find the sepia prints well. I want to use it more often. Thanks for your kind comments :-))

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

