A dog not named Boo

Why is Boo suddenly so popular? There are far better dogs around – Murphy, Lulu, Fizz, Milo, Colin Snout and many others of impeccable credentials. Well I guess some dogs just do look cute but never judge a dog by its cuteness quotient. I was wasting 20 minutes waiting for Mrs. Ha to finish shopping this afternoon when I spotted this little thing.

Alert

SnoozeUndoubtedly a high scorer on the cute-scale but not much of a conversationalist. After 15 minutes trying to engage it in barkasation it resolutely refused to utter a sound. Snubbed I was.

Eventually Mrs. Ha finished her chores and we had a cup of tea and some afternoon toast at the Sai Kung greasy spoon. Then we walked along the sea front back towards the car park. At last I lit up. A Peregrine Falcon was cruising over the boats and looking all puffed up and regal, effortlessly slicing through the dull autumnal air. A second circuit and it landed on one of the apartment balconies above a restaurant. Imagine you were to go to the living room window and there, sitting on your balcony rail, was a PF. I’d like some of that. Can you take a photo? asked Mrs. Ha. I tried to explain the limitations of a 35mm lens. So there it sat and suddenly I wondered if I might introduce it to the arrogant Pom. That would make an interesting how-do-you-do? I don’t think a Peregrine would stoop to pavement level. A bit risky if the timing were wrong.

We saw a film once in which a dog was seized by an eagle and carried away. Sandra Bullock was in it (but she played neither dog nor eagle) and sadly the film was set in Alaska and the eagle was a Wedge-tailed, found only in Australia. Poor casting. But a Peregrine taking a Pom in Sai Kung. It would pack the cinemas. Providing it wasn’t Lulu getting carried away. I think I shall have to talk to Chow Yun-fat. Now he can’t work in the PRC any more he may need a little extra dosh. And no role for Boo. Boo Who?

23 thoughts on “A dog not named Boo

  1. I think the second image shows just what the Pom thinks of the idea about the Peregrine plunge. Does seem a cute guy even if a bit indifferent to your talents. Personally, were I to name a dog “Boo”, I wouldn’t settle foe one “Boo” but two as in “Boo-Boo”.

  2. A mere snack, Andrew and hardly worth the effort. You have caught the perfect look of sheer disdain in the second shot and, while I am not a fan of little dogs, I do rather like this shot :0)

  3. I showed Milo and he just yawned and looked away. I think he needs a bit of a wake-up call getting arrogant and demanding. He insists on sitting between us in the car on the console which would not be so bad if he brushed his teeth or avoided eating long ago buried lamb bones.

  4. C.Snout is right proper made up that he’s got a mention, Thank you! 😀 He and Lulu may share some disgusting habits but Lulu will always win paws down in the beauty stakes. It’s pouring with rain this morning and he doesn’t yet know it (currently snoring under the duvet on our bed) but he’s about to be dragged out for a walk – There’ll be no yule logs in this house thank you very much 😉

  5. I once had a hawk swoop down and take a rabbit in my garden, right in front of me. Very exciting. Probably a Broadwinged, although I’m not as swift at ID as it was at flight. Ah well. Not the same as a P.F. making off with an arrogant Pom. I am sure that LuLu would never stand for such treatment.

  6. Little dogs sometimes have Napoleon complexes. Being so small, they have to puff their little chests, act strong, superior and “above it all.” Boo is adorable and looks rich in the attitude department.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

