Three’s company?

The White-bellied Sea Eagles I see over the house are usually full adults. I recently saw a third and that was also an adult. This afternoon a third appeared again and this time in a different plumage. I am presuming this is a sub-adult bird. I wonder if it is looking for its own territory. The primaries are not fully black at least on 1-6 and even P7 has some vestigial white at the base. At least one of the secondaries is predominantly white on the right under-wing.WBSEnew WBSEnew2I will keep an eye out and see if it returns. As a bonus this bird was sitting on the roof of a house next to our compound. Blue Rock Thrush is quite regular here and always welcome. I would appreciate a better shot without the light behind though. Not much to ask. is it?Blue Rock Thrush

 

21 thoughts on “Three’s company?

  1. Amazing shots of the Eagle 🙂 Perhaps one day you will show me how you do that. I spend ages trying to capture the Buzzards that fly overhead but I just can’t seem to get the focus and zoom in on them in the time allowed. Perhaps this time is comes down to the limitations of my bridge camera.

    • Definitely, Colin, bridge cameras are great but struggle with BIF. Its not that difficult – the trickiest bit is getting the exposure right and that depends a lot on the background not fooling the exposure meter – or you shoot in manual. I took these with an 800mm lens, some handheld, some tripod mounted.

  2. I’ve just realised that I’ve missed all your posts since I read Chaos Theory. I naturally assumed you had other things on your mind which is why you weren’t blogging – but no, WordPresss decided to eliminate all sight of you from my reader, just as they did with Rod a while back. I’m livid. Why do they do this? Anyway, you’re re- instated now … Hopefully 😄

  3. I am looking at birds differently because of your posts. I love that this guy is still working his way to adulthood. If you catch that thrush on the right side of the light, I’d love to see him again – great colours.

    • Hilary, the bigger birds – large gulls and eagles for example, take several years to mature, say 4-6. Small birds with short lifespans need to mature fast, breed and then sadly they die. Big birds tend to live longer so are not in a rush. They go through distinct ageing phases when the plumage is distinctive (sometimes) and juveniles can look dramatically different from adults. Gulls can be very tricky with a sort of sliding scale and it often needs an expert to consider many features before determining the age. There aren’t too many pairs of WBSE in HK. I am reasonably sure the birds I see each day are the same ones. This one stood out and I was keen to get some photos to see if I can ID it again if it reappears but it looks close to full adulthood. Once it is a full adult it will look just like the others but will probably move on and find a new territory.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

