Tin Hau Temple, Hong Kong

There are many Tin Hau temples in Hong Kong. Today I visited the one in, strangely enough, Tin Hau, named after the goddess of the sea. This is a famous one and so I tried to find some detail amongst the traditional tourist snaps. Some temples frown on photography. I was allowed to snap undisturbed. I put HK$20 in the voluntary donation box and chatted with the guardian or custodian for about 10 minutes. Well worth putting on your itinerary when you next pass through Honkers. If you get bored with my snaps just go and do something more interesting instead. All shot with my trusty Fujifilm X100s. Why waste money on an upgrade?

The late afternoon sun created some attractive shadows on the temple wall.Tin Hau 10This couple were hidden behind an urn. The small camera and shallow DoF allowed me to shoot around and through the obstacles.Tin Hau9One of Lulu’s ancestors?Tin Hau8A panel detailTin Hau7Small donation, sir? (To be fair, nobody asked!)Tin Hau 6Don’t mess with me, sonny.TinHau5

I wonder who lives behind that door. Not Lloyd Grossman, I’ll be bound.TinHaurounddoorThe tiger is obvious (yes, we used to have tigers in HK) but look at the little chap in the bottom left hand corner.    🙂Tin Hau tigerAn oven for the offerings.THT4This is a roof panel and I held the camera as high as I could, arms outstretched and then cropped and used the perspective correction in LR to try and make it look like a direct shot.THT3b Same panel – different shot.THT2The evilest looking cherubs you ever did see….TinHauTemple1And whilst all this is going on, for others there is still time for a ciggy and to check the runners and riders at Happy Valley.Squatting

22 thoughts on “Tin Hau Temple, Hong Kong

    • It’s worth exploring a bit. Some of these temples are in busy areas. This is one MTR (tube) stop from Causeway Bay, the main shopping area. It is well sign posted. And the temples are in active use. This Tin Hau is quite small, has a small park by it and has lots of interesting things to see.

  1. All of these are so interesting and very good. I like the 3rd one down. Unusual sculpture work with lines going in every direction. Really pretty. I see the Chinese have their version of the devil as well. It seems the devil is everywhere. I quote my mother here. 🙂 Last but not least I like the man sitting as he reads the paper. Nice B&W shot.

    • The third one down is actually very small, about the size of a door stop. I put the camera at ground level to take this close up. I’m glad you like it, Yvonne.

  2. One of the features of eastern art that has always impressed my is the detail and obvious patience required in the creation and presentation. We have a couple of inexpensive prints of Chinese landscape scrolls hanging together over our bed. Originally we bought each and kept them in our apartments until we got married and hung them together. But that is another story…guess I told it anyway. The Freer Art Galley, a part of the Smithsonian in Washington, D.C., had a fantastic display of the scrolls. We could just sit for hours exploring the scenes depicted.
    I would guess that the opportunity to visit and photograph such as you have shared here will be one of your most missed things in moving.

  3. These are truly wonderful photographs, Andrew, which bring this temple to vibrant life. If I squatted for long in the position of the man in your terrific last photo, I would need a small crane to lift me up!

  4. It’s always a mistake to come late to a list of comments on your site, Andrew — what to say now? Apart, of course, from agreeing with all those who said what wonderful photos these are. I especially like the moon gate (all references to Lloyd Grossman apart) …

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

