Mr. & Mrs.

My quest to uncover the history of Winchester took me on a walk along Colebrook Street this afternoon. I looked up and saw two faces staring blankly from an old house. It looked in poor repair but perhaps of some note at one time.

I quizzed Pevsner in vain. Then I struck gold when I discovered a site detailing all the listed buildings in Britain. I learned that the building was 108 Colebrook Street and this is what the site says:

C18. Late – C 19 early. 3 storeys. Red brick walls. Balanced end projections
with blocked elliptical arches. Stone arch and springers in vermiculated
work. Carved stone keystones – a male bearded face to right, a female
head to left. 5 windows, one in each projection. Has probably been 2
houses with 2 doorways on ground floor, one blocked, also right hand window.
Doorway – good Adam type door cam with dentilled pediment. Fanlight.
Door 6 flush panels. mnelled reveals. Sash windows with glazing bars.
Stone band at first floor level, brick dentil string at second. Hipped
slate roof.

Source: British Listed Buildings.

Whether they are really Mr. & Mrs. or not remains a mystery. However as Shaw Taylor used to say, Someone out there must know who they are……  Sadly, it isn’t me. Can you help?

Colebrook street108F

Colebrookstreet108m

16 thoughts on “Mr. & Mrs.

  1. My first thought was a Grammar school may have such carvings, My secondary school used to be a grammar school and there were two doors, one with boys and one with girls above.
    Just an idea.

  2. I’ll give it some thought and will let you know if I dig up something. I’ve heard rumors of infidelity and some marital mishaps during the late thirties. The Adam type door suggests an Eve with Granny Smith, but that is just speculation.

  3. Io proprio non riesco ad aiutarti, solo qualcuno del posto facile che sappia darti notizie certe. Illuminarti su questa coppia di teste e sulla loro storia!!
    Ciao, Pat

  4. Can we have a full picture of the elevations? Not that I have any answers, sadly. The male figure looks standardised, but the female looks more individual. I probably know someone who could add a little light (more pics needed).

  5. The carvings are quite interesting. Of course I have no idea about British buildings. I know, however, that the stove carver ( I aasume those are made of strone) sure liked to make his subjects bug-eyed.

  6. My feeling is that they were possibly just made for ‘a bit of fun’ as entrances- it’s the sort of whacky thing I’d have carved on the side of our house if I had a few £100 squids spare – a sort of monumental ‘his ‘n’ hers’ or, since it’s that time of the year….a bit of comic relief. The ‘his ‘ has an element of the Green Man about him but she’s a plainer sort of girl, and certainly not carved in the classical mode that may still have been favoured at that time. That’s me pennies worth 🙂

    • Ah yes, the Green Man. I lived close to a pub called The Green Man when I was younger so I remember him well. They look theatrical to me.I’m sure when Nevin Artistic Enterprises floats on the Alcala La Real stock exchange you will be able to afford a whole house of gargoyles and the like.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

