For Cameron

This afternoon I witnessed an 11 year old boy run out from behind a school bus into the path of an oncoming vehicle. The driver had no chance to stop. I called the ambulance and Cameron is now in hospital. We had the lot, paramedics, ambulance, helicopter……. I hope he makes a full recovery. The driver was himself in shock.

In true British style people jumped into action. A doctor saw the accident and stopped immediately. Two other drivers started controlling the traffic flow. Someone contacted his mother via his mobile phone. His teacher appeared and kept him warm with his coat. I talked the emergency services through his injuries whilst the doctor did an initial assessment.

So a salutary reminder of how life can change in a fraction of a second. And this one is for Cameron. I hope he is back at home soon.

Reeds in the breeze.

Winnall Moors reed bed

43 thoughts on “For Cameron

  1. What a horrific event! Hopefully, with the help from you and all the wonderful people who stopped and helped Cameron have increased his chance of a full recovery (if full recovery is possible after his ?traumatic brain injury). Thank you for not freezing, some people are too stunned to react, and jumping into action.

    • Caroline, I guess it was less than a minute between the impact and me talking to the emergency services. It was obvious that he was potentially in a life threatening situation. Nobody froze and the response time by the medics was amazing. They helicoptered a team in within 15 minutes and by that time the paramedics and ambulance crew had braced his neck, given him oxygen, etc. The police arrived last and it was all remarkably calm.

  2. Yes, we’re all reeds in the breeze of life.

    I hope the young lad makes a full recovery, and I feel really sorry for the driver who was involved. He/she will take along time to get over this incident.

  3. What a thing to witness! I’m glad all the emergency measures were carried out with such competence. Sadly, that has not always been my experience when I have witnessed accident response by rural emergency crews in the American West. Best wishes to Cameron, and to you!

  4. Oh, Andrew, what a terrible thing to happen. I can’t imagine and I don’t want to imagine, it’s every parents/drivers nightmare. I must admit, I read the title of this post and did a double take. Well done you for being so quick to help and, fingers, toes and everything crossed that the young lad makes a speedy and full recovery.

    • His mother and grandparents arrived fairly quickly Lottie. Distraught to say the least. Hard to imagine what mum was thinking. Just awful.

  5. Oh wow, poor driver, poor Cameron – no doubt breaking up for his Easter holidays. How life can change in an instant. Best wishes to Cameron for a speedy recovery. Thank goodness for calm and sensible folk like yourself Andrew, in situations like this.

    • It’s hard to imagine what his mother was going through as she ran up the road. Shirley is still very upset. It was truly an accident. I hope the speed of response helped. I have never dialled 999 before but it was an instant reaction. No need to think. Poor lad.

  6. Wonderful that everyone combined so effectively, Andrew !
    Two comments on the incident: (1) why don’t drivers have it in their heads 100% of the time that kids WILL run out into the street from behind buses ? I’m sure the bloke wasn’t breaking any speed limit, but …
    (2) Why are parents so unsuccessful in instilling into kids’ heads what happens when you do that ?
    The first can be acted on because it relates to adults; but the second can’t, because it involves kids’ thinking.
    :/

    • Both fair points M-R. I’m not sure we will ever hear how he fares but it was an awful moment as he was thrown through the air like a rag doll.

      • I’ve only ever seen two road accidents; and both filled me with utter terror – even though in neither was anyone killed … There’s something absolutely visceral about our reactions; which makes it all the more commendable the way you all sprang into action.

  7. Horrible thing to witness a boy at my son’s high school did the same thing but was killed outright. It’s a shame we don’t have the same rules as America where if a school bus comes to a halt traffic behind and in front has to stop until they move on.

    • Others have raised this but I contacted the local councillor (who was already aware of the accident) and he said “Traffic control isn’t normally considered for school buses” but he did say that there may well be a review of the speed limit. The problem is that speed was not the critical factor here. The driver would have been going at maybe 10-15 mph only to have had any chance and the lowest speed limit I have seen here is 20mph in a school area. He was unsighted and tinkering with speed limits doesn’t change that.

    • We did not sleep well, Hilary. I hope he is built of strong stuff as he took a major knock. I think most people just went on to autopilot and reacted as they should. No heroics, just plain common sense.

  8. Well done you all! Cameron’s survival was the result of the effective and coordinated actions of a group of total strangers who just all happened to be in that place at that moment. I think you’re all heroes!

  9. Wonderful reaction on your part and others to all pull together in such a dreadful and tragic situation. I pray that Cameron will recover soon. I feel for his mom and other family members. Words escape me- I cried as I read this.

    Here in Texas and I suppose other states as well, the bus driver does not open the exit door until all traffic – oncoming and following comes to complete stop. The drive turns on flashing stop lights and uses a lever to activate a stop sign attached to the bus. Is a mandatory state law that no vehicle passes until all children have safely crossed the road. Vehicles are not allowed to proceed until the bus begins moving again. This law is strictly enforced.

    Maybe some citizen/s need to work at getting a law passed such as in the states. The law here has saved many lives. I have to wonder how many children died or were seriously crippled before the law was passed.

  10. My cousin’s only son was almost ten when he ran out between two parked cars and was hit by a delivery truck that could not stop. He died as his mom and older sisters watched from the other side of the street. This was 31 years ago, and they’ve never gotten over it.
    Please keep us posted about how this young boy is doing, Andrew.

    • What a tragic loss,Marylin. I am sure the pain will never go away. We are trying to find out how Cameron is but we may not know. I do not even know which hospital he is in.

  11. What an awful experience for all concerned. I do hope that Cameron makes a complete recovery…emotionally as well as physically.
    Yvonne has already mentioned the precautions taken here to prevent such but it does happen sometimes.

  12. Andew the Awesome!
    Life is so precious and so fleeting. I don’t think us humans think that we are only a bubble of goo easily popped! 😨
    Glad the boy is recovering and I hope the driver can shake this off also. I don’t know if I could drive again after that. My fault or not.

  13. I’m *liking* this post for the speedy response that you and others were able to provide.

    How horrible to witness something so terrible. My thoughts are with the boy for a complete recovery, his family and the traumatized driver … but also for you. I’m sure it has left some mark.

  14. Thank you for reacting well Andrew. It is encouraging to know you and those around Cameron reacted swiftly and well.
    You and Shirley will need to talk about this accident to avoid mental trauma. I’m not surprised you had a restless night.
    I’ll pray for Cameron’s recovery and for peace for those who witnessed the accident, as well as the driver and Cameron’s parents. So many lives affected in a moment.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

