Cultivating the garden

At this stage I feel as if the garden is cultivating me but I walked down to the copse as the sun began to set and ended up with a couple of snaps. My lords, ladies and gentlemen, you should always call a spathe a spathe.LordsandladiesAnd this is my colour allowance for the day. Do you know which plant this is?ColoursI was worried at one point today that I would be singing “Woody doesn’t live here anymore” as the chilly rain kept him away. When the sun finally parted the clouds Woody was back in a flash. I remain hopeful that our tenants will sign up. After all it is a very favourable lease.

17 thoughts on “Cultivating the garden

  1. Arum macularum and don’t eat it.
    Whereas the bottom plant is I suspect is edible
    Allium ursinum and makes great pesto

  2. I hope that Arum is not a close relative to the Titan Arum . Beautiful flower but attracts flies rather than bees.
    Solomon Seal is a lovely although modest little flower. Based on these two nice shots, I predict that you are about to become an avid flower photographer, Andrew.

  3. Cultivating the cultivated garden cultivated the cultivated gardener. Sort of a loose take on that ‘Conquered Greece conquered Rome” theme. Anyone fancy a (cuckoo) pint?

  4. Your photo is lovely and I think you’ll be finding more fascinating plants in your garden- at least I hope so. I’m looking forward to more plant and tree photos. The plant in your photo is native to GB.

    I had to look this up but thought that it was a member of the Arum genus of which there are (from reading) about 30 plants worldwide.

    I’ve seen one particular species that is sold in the floral trade, here in the states and, it’s a beautiful plant.

    I copied the info below from Google for general interest. I found the descriptions fascinating and have omitted one part that some folks might find distasteful.

    A lovely and toxic plant that attracts insects and also rodents. Arum maculatum is a common woodland plant species of the Araceae family. It is widespread across most of Europe as well as Turkey and Caucasus. It is known by an abundance of common names including snakeshead, adder’s root, arum, wild arum, arum lily, lords-and-ladies, devils and angels, cows and bulls, cuckoo-pint, Adam and Eve, bobbins, naked boys, starch-root, wake robin, friar’s cowl and jack in the pulpit. The name “lords-and-ladies” and other gender related names.

  5. “Raindrops on roses…” and on the leaves of wonderful plants, are among my favorite things.
    I can’t believe that the plant attracts insects and rodents…

  6. Hello Andrew! I am hoping to learn a thing or two about gardening and plants from you! Your garden is magnificent. Plus having Mr & Mrs Woody as tenants must be absolutely thrilling. When did you move from Hong Kong? I’m now catching up after being away for a year. Do keep us posted about how your garden grows. Happy May! Sharon

    • We have been back 3 months Sharon but have kept an apartment in HK as a base to use when we are there. We shall see whether we adjust to life back in England. The garden is my joy.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

