What Woody Did Next

Woody spent four days chipping away at the hole. For the last 2 days all we saw in the main was Woody’s bum sticking out as he dug deeper. I wonder if he was enlarging a Great Spotted Woodpecker’s old dwelling. I noticed that his red crown (All Hail King Woody) was flecked with white. Possibly sawdust, possibly abrasion. Don’t worry Woody. There is always Woodpecker 2000 to restore your fire-red glory. He also became an early starter. Each day when I went out to check the moth trap Woody was always out before me (I venture out around 6am). Yesterday afternoon after we returned from Salisbury I raised my binoculars and saw a face poking out of the hole. Mrs. Woody! They can be separated as the female has no red flash in her moustachial stripe. So she has moved in. I hope she likes it and stays. Last night we had heavy rain which will have tested whether it is watertight. Now we wait and see.

I have so far identified four species of caddisfly here. I had considerable help with the first two. I then bought that ever-popular chart-topper The adult Trichoptera (caddisflies) of Britain and Ireland. I’m not sure whether this has helped or hindered but this morning I am confident I added Limnephilus sparus to the list. Widespread and fairly common apparently. Oh well. I liked it anyway.

Yesterday I started the morning with Mocha:Cyclophora annulariaIt isn’t a coffee but Cyclophoria annularia, a nationally scarce moth species. And alongside it was  Scorched Carpet, Ligdia adustataScorched Carpet

Not much else to report. Mrs. Ha was enchanted by the Grey Squirrel that came up to the window and pulled faces at Lulu. I am struggling to identify plants. My book has 8 different species of Forget-me-Not, which is 7 too many in my view. So I have narrowed it down and have a 1 in 8 chance of being right. The grass has been cut at the upper end of the garden and I now need to find someone who can scarify on an industrial scale. Any volunteers?

14 thoughts on “What Woody Did Next

  1. Andrew, we use a franchise called Green Thumb. They come in about three or four times a year to treat the lawn, kill off the moss and scarify. It all seems to work!

  2. The moths are pretty. Good luck with the identification process of the plants. For my two cents worth if you want birds and a healthy environment you will need to remain chemical free. That is my take on the matter and have never used herbicides or pesticides. My one acre has many birds, lizards, butterflies, etc. It’s not possible to have a perfect yard and wildlife as well.

  3. It sounds like you have a great photo opportunity coming up with the Woodies. The Great Big Black and white and Read All Over ones are back in our garden but I have no idea where they are nesting. Good luck with the Forget-me-nots, you have to look and see if they have got hairy legs 🙂

  4. By scarify I am guessing you are talking about what we call dethatching? I did that once…didn’t care for it. Aside from the work, it encourages the grass to grow. If the grass grows it means more mowing. No more dethatching being done here. No lawn feeding either.

    Your mocha looks quite similar to the Large Lace-border that I see in the yard and elsewhere here. Not the same genus, I don’t think, but a similar and very lacy distant cousin possibly. They do photograph well all spread out like that.

  5. I think I missed something, however the comments elude to the fact of lawn services. .. My 5 cent answer (inflation is a birch!) Only dethatch if you need to. Thatch is a very important thing to grass. We aerate in spring here and dethatch in fall. Can’t imagine they suggested dethatching now. (They meaning lawn service) Thatch helps keep the lawn moist. Your lawn will struggle to keep water this summer if you dethatch now. I think I have a post on this somewhere. .. Anyway!
    About herbicides / insecticides. Don’t do it if you want to photograph moths and other animals. There are plenty of organic methods of helping a lawn along. Even spot treatment with a chemical is better than just spraying all willy-nilly.

  6. I think I am going to start a line in moth-style fans, I am so taken with their wing shapes and the lovely fine fringes. I have forget-me-nots as a welcome weed all over the garden. Apart from the slow appearance of white ones which I collect for a particular bed, I thought they were a single species. I’ll have to look more closely now.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

