102 n.o.

More from the garden. And what a sunset!

Moths etc.

As anticipated the century came up overnight.

The honour of being the first centurion was accorded to this moth, for whom Alfred, Lord Tennyson wrote his epic Charge of the Light Brocade (Lacanobia w-latinum).Lacanobia w-latinum2In total I stand at 102. However the highlight of the evening was the sunset. I only had my point and shoot but this was the sky at night:Glow-2

Today I added two interesting beetles to the garden list, both identified to genus level. There is so much to discover.

View original post

16 thoughts on “102 n.o.

  1. Welcome back to the UK Andrew – I see you are making up for lost time on the moth front. An impressive tally. I really hope to be back up and blogging soon. Ill health has stood in the way

    • Thanks James. I am so sorry that you have had bad health. It would be great to have you back blogging regularly. And I recommend moths when the birds are quiet!

  2. Well, you just keep on racking up the number of moths. I’m impressed. Sunset photos surely grab my attention. I never tire of looking at a sunset that is so vividly colored.

      • I agree with you that it is odd but there might be a reason for very few in my area.

        This year, I’m seeing only a few scattered butterflies. I’m thinking the relentless rain here In Texas has affected the population. I’m hoping this incredible wet season will soon be over and that the butters will have a chance to recover.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

