Double, double toil and trouble

I found Wood Avens, Geum urbanum in the garden today. That is fortunate because it has the power to drive away evil spirits, and to protect against rabid dogs and venomous snakes. Our house is full of both. Or do I mean builders and plumbers?

I also found a Hornet, Vespa crabro. People seem to be terrified of hornets but I understand they are not normally aggressive. I did not put this to the test. It posed happily enough for a photo and then we went our respective ways.Vespa crabro

At 7am Mr. R.O.E. Deer arrived and spent half an hour with us. The photos are too poor because of the dull light but he now has his shiny summer coat and looks very fine. I wonder if he is young as I have only ever seen him alone and never with a family.

We have been out all day meeting up with an old friend and so my time in the garden has been limited. Over the weekend I found a couple of decent beetles and of course I kept the trap running. Whilst we were out my new moth trap arrived. A Robinson trap uses a mercury vapour lamp and in theory should pull in more leps. We shall see tomorrow night. Provided nobody complains. Perhaps the rabid snakes and venomous dogs will not like it.

Another busy day tomorrow as the Princess has booked herself a pampering Pom session at the Poodle Parlour. She woke us at 04.30 today so I think it is we who need the pampering. Mrs. Ha was not amused. I suppose it could be worse. We might wake up tomorrow and find the deer in the bedroom demanding yoghurt and fried bacon for breakfast instead of apple blossom and Dock leaves. Sorry dear. Bluebells are off.

Moth of the Day, Tethea ocularis also known, rather bizarrely, as the Figure of Eighty Moth. I have no idea why.Tethea ocularis

21 thoughts on “Double, double toil and trouble

  1. I love your photography, Andrew. I just have to smile ~ when you say you didn’t have much time to spend in the garden, you mean to find good shots; when I don’t have time to spend in the garden, it means to pull weeds and do the watering. 😉

    • Oh I do a bit of gardening too, Marylin. I am opening up some overgrown paths at the moment. BTW did you see the link I left on Alzheimer’s – very interesting I thought.

  2. I am happy to see the hornet posing quietly for you, but I have to admit that it is the one creature that I feel irrational panic when facing. I can happily let bees or even wasps walk over me, but hornets…

  3. Una bella foto quella del calabrone, che in effetti non ho mai capito se è pericoloso oppure NO,
    Se ne leggono talmente tante ultimamente, che non so più a chi crede!!
    Ciao, serena notte, Pat

  4. I’ve never known a hornet to be “cuddly or sweet.” However your hornet does appear to be a mild one. It’s a nice pic of it too.

    I was stung several times by hornets that had an underground nest near my flower pots. I was moving some of the pots and was stung at least 4-5 times in a New York minute. I ran into the house and grabbed a Benadryl and emptied the capsule under my tongue. I had to miss work that day- I was dizzy from the med and in pain from the stings on my arms.

  5. I’m understanding your fascination for moths – the ones you have photographed here are absolutely beautiful.
    I think your roe deer is likely to be a youngster – we spy them in the field behind our garden. Luckily they can’t get in because they destroy virtually every flower or flowering shrub known to man. They are beautiful though …

  6. There I was thinking moths are dirty and dusty looking creatures. Just as well that Andrew is changing our minds for the better. I will take a closer look next time too. Thank you Andrew.

  7. I am loving these garden and moth rambles, Andrew. When we let a squirrel-planted oak to grow here we saw a huge increase in moths. I’ve been delighted. More birds, too. Amazing what one tree can do on a small suburban lot. I seem to remember coming across a moth with similar markings..related, I suppose although I know some species of butterflies are cosmopolitan. Oh for the wings to fly…

  8. Actually having a local deer that could operate a door knob and find your bedroom sounds like it would be quite a fine novelty. Although I imagine getting past Lulu might prove a bit daunting.
    As a child, my family’s car was a Hornet.

  9. Cannot help but admire the hornet; and I believe you have caught his good side. The moth is magnificent and I think we can feel the pull of the mercury vapour form parts of Derbyshire. I haven’t seen a moth all day.

    • Most of the moths are probably in our kitchen, Simon, much to the chagrin of Mrs. Ha. Not all of them pose happily for photographs despite the encouragement I give them. Last night was poor for moths but tonight should be better.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

