The Woodys – an update

Mr. & Mrs. Woody have only been seen once in the last week. I saw a ‘pecker go into the hole on one occasion so I suspected they were still using it in some capacity. Then yesterday Mrs. Ha saw one go in. We hear them all the time but once the leaves are on the tree seeing them is more challenging. Just after breakfast today I saw a flash of green dive into the hole and as it did so another sped out. Change over time!

I went into my British Birds archive and found a fascinating note from vol. 39 describing a full breeding cycle observed in 1944. This indicated that both birds incubate the eggs and swap over every 3 hours or so.The incubation period seems to be anything from 12 to 19 days (disputed) and fledging occurs after about 3 weeks. If we are lucky we may still be here if and when the youngsters leave the nest. If we are unlucky it may all happen whilst we are away.

The weather forecast was for heavy rain overnight so I did not trap last night.  Seeing the Woodys again made up for that.

16 thoughts on “The Woodys – an update

  1. I passed through your former city on my way home. The outbound flight to Australia, along with many others, was delayed for about an hour by a sudden tropical storm.

    I wish we had woodpeckers in Australia!

      • A few years back, I saw a documentary on the (ever expanding) airport in HK. It’s quite an amazing piece of architecture, aside from anything else.

        I flew (as usual) with Cathay Pacific to Cairns. It’s sad to see that cost cutting has affected the service provided. The cabin crew were run off their feet, and everything seemed just a little bit shoddy.

      • I recognize that description of Cathay. But many high cost airlines are struggling against Emirates and Qatar. We have used them both but after a while the stopover palls even at half the cost. We are flying BA business this time and they still levy an outrageous ‘fuel surcharge’. I’ll be interested to see what the service is like.

  2. I do hope your Woodys complete the cycle and you get us some photos. Our Martins as so miffed about rebuilding one of their nests that they appear to have moved on. This will be our first Martin-less year and we are so sad.

    • Oh Hilary we have been hoping for Swallows or Martins but we too have none. We saw lots of them about 10 miles down the road but we have not been able to tempt them.

  3. Taking turns in egg sitting seems rather civil and progressive. We are finally also getting warm to travel and will consider an upgrade from tourist. We have yet to get over the Jetstar flight last year when there was no food and even water was rationed.
    Next, flights will be standing only, strapped and suspended from a belt.

  4. Definitely. One of the benefits of the ash borer here is that with all the dead ash trees, we now have an abundance of woodpeckers 🙂 The other day I saw a red-headed, now fairly rare in our area. I was so pleased. I’m delighted to learn that they are nesting in your tree.

  5. We have a few woodpeckers that visit our feeders and a pileated that has wrought havoc on a rotting stump at the back of the yard, but none that I am aware of have nested in our trees. I am envious of your observing them and do hope luck allows you to see the fledglings.

  6. I’ve been lucky enough to catch sight of a green woodpecker each year for the last plenty but only once for more than a few seconds. Always an uplifting sight.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

