Elephants and milestones

A tale of elephant hunting by lamplight.

Moths etc.

This morning I was late. 4.40 the clock said. I stumbled down and out of the door carrying my torch and pots. Rain! Well, drizzle really but enough to be a nuisance. I peered into the trap and my eyes lit up to match the mercury vapour lamp. Two elephants! Small and regular size.

Deilephila elpenor-2

Deilephila elpenor

Deilephila porcellus-2

Deilephila porcellus

Daubed in Max Factor they stared glumly at me as I secured them in my largest pots. Then I carried on grabbing other goodies as I burrowed my hands into the imaginary sawdust of the lucky dip. Maybe a dozen pots went into the pocket before I left the trap, still shining, to return to the dry.

It was a couple of hours later that I had my second dip and it was clear that the new for the garden list was getting a substantial boost. I rather liked the Footman. A red-neck.Atolmis rubricollisMrs. Ha on…

View original post 177 more words

11 thoughts on “Elephants and milestones

  1. What a couple of beauties, Andrew. I hope they are regular visitors even if they have already been accounted for in the checklist. They remind me of this although not at all elephantine. 🙂

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

