Green grow the grasses o!

The rain is whispering on the other side of the sash windows. At last the green is returning to the garden. We need a day or two of this. It is perfect. Gentle, unceasing. Yesterday I sobbed inwardly at the state of the hydrangeas. They need a lot of watering and the contents of the water butts are being used to bring succor to the more delicate plants. The rest of the garden is left to fend for itself.

Yesterday hedges were trimmed and we allowed summer light to fall onto the copse floor for the first time in many years. The boundary trees remain untouched but canopy openings are being created. We will soon clear some of the debris. Leaving brush piles, rotting trunks and logs for the wildlife.

Yesterday the garden was echoing with the cries and screeches of the young woodpeckers. They were back to the nest hole again. Perhaps they have designs on it for next year. Who will prevail? Today a Wood Pigeon sits forlornly on the orangery roof. Bedraggled. Feathers darkened by heavy drizzle. Eyes blinking away the droplets. An adult rabbit lopes around in the copse. This year’s Robins are now sporting their hunting pink waistcoats. They wait patiently as I inspect the moth traps, waiting for easy pickings.

We have two wasps nests to deal with. One is next to the bathroom window. There must be a gap in the mortar. The wasps fly close, hover briefly then dive in. Their stream of comings and goings is constant. We leave the window open but they never come in. Too busy. Too preoccupied. The other is above a bedroom. They fly up under the soffit boards. There must be an up draft as they fly directly at me at eye level, and then at the last moment they veer sharply upwards. The flight path is always the same. They also pose no threat. However the house is to be decorated and repaired outside and the decorators will not venture into the territory of the wasps. Yesterday I found another Hornet. Very dozy. I learned also that males don’t sting. I must learn how to tell the sexes apart so I can ‘handle with care’ and impress my friends. The hornet whisperer. He never gets stung.

I suffer from teleophobia. Self-diagnosed. The older I get the worse it becomes. I would far rather watch the rain fall and the leaves rustle than set myself to a task. My intentions are always good but the execution is inevitably put off to another day. My only goal this weekend is to visit another National Trust property. Hinton Ampner is nearby and I shall try to persuade Mrs. Ha to come along.

I apologize for my absence on many of your blogs. Is anybody else struggling to get the WP Reader to work? I have sent endless crash reports but to no avail. It launches and then promptly closes again. I can read on the web but that is more difficult on a mobile device and any time I spend on the laptop is usually to do with photography. Then I am called away again.

Not many moths this week as the wasps are eating them all. I did rescue this one though, True Lover’s Knot it is called and I leave you with that to enjoy. Apparently it frequents heather. As far as I know I am without heather in the garden so it must be just passing through.Lycophotia porphyrea

Lycophotia porphyrea

Lycophotia porphyrea2

25 thoughts on “Green grow the grasses o!

  1. I’ve given up on the WP Reader. I’ve changed my settings to get instant emails from the blogs I really enjoy, and I get other notifications from Twitter and Bloglovin’.

  2. I used to think moths were poor shadows of the more flamboyant butterflies. Thanks to your gentle tutelage, I now know differently. Thank you!

  3. Reading your description of the woodland glades and of deer in earlier blogs reminded of a book I enjoyed when quite young The Yearling (The authors name escapes me).
    Very descriptive.
    Interesting moth too.
    Thanks GP

  4. I use the WP App and it works fantasticly! I truly dislike the way the reader works on the Web. It takes 3 clicks sometimes to read someone’s post. . Especially if they do the ‘more’ button to get the clicks on their website. ..
    The app has no formatting, no side bars, no extra crap, just post after post of my fav bloggers. I seriously recommend it.
    Maybe try rss feeds. Another option.

      • Comment directly from an RSS feed? No, I don’t think so, at least not with mine. I can comment after clicking wo logging in if I’ve ‘stayed logged in’ to WP. RSS are like emails, kinda. I use an RSS app to read things, but I tend not to comment on those, it’s more newsy type stuff that I would rather not get caught up in those crazy commenting sections.
        I highly recommend the WP app. HIGHLY!
        It’s so simply laid out. Like an RSS, but you can directly comment, like, follow, etc. I don’t see any of the banners, who’s been freshly pressed, your amount of hits, nothing but your gravatar and the post (post pix also). I can read others comments and then just move on to the next post on my list of followed blogs. It’s a time saver for sure.
        Hope that helped!

      • I do use the app Ilex. It is usually good but the reader is the problem. I use an RSS feed called Feedly. Very good but too cumbersome if I want to comment. I hope they fix the app. I have updated it.

  5. I have only just now discovered ‘Reader’ but am not familiar with what it actually does. Glad you are getting rain. I also thought they invented the rain in England. Alway nice to read your words and look at the photos, Andrew. You keep well.

  6. Always a pleasure to hear your adventures in gardening.

    I have heard that many people are having trouble with their readers. Fortunately, all the blogs I am interested in reading go directly to my email.

  7. What is it with all the WP glitches, Andrew? I’m starting to place bets with myself before I log in. But in spirt of the obstacles, you amaze with your photography, yes, but also with your nearly poetic way with words. Well done.

  8. Our garden certainly looks almost relieved this evening after all the rain, so I don’t mind the odd torrent or two.
    I’d agree with Mid-Western Plant Girl that the app is a good way to use the reader. I insisted for ages that I didn’t need an iPad but I wouldn’t be without it now. However… WordPress seems to delete favourite blogs at will and without notice so I have to go through the web version to reinstate them which is annoying.
    Am looking forward to your take on Hinton Ampner.

  9. You write so well. I particularly loved how you described the pigeon and the rain. Perfect.
    We could do with some rain – I’ve probably boringly mentioned that in a comment before but hey ho! It’s been a long hot summer here, dry as a bone.

    The way you describe your garden reminds me of that beautiful song ‘Where’ere you walk’ I imagine the shade given by the canopy of trees and the dappled light that must fall through the branches. Oh to be in England eh?

    I responded to Yvonne’s comment above regarding moths – ’tis true, you really have made me appreciate their beauty a lot more. Thank you 🙂

  10. Isn’t the rain blissful. I have listened to it all day, going out to encourage the free flow into water butts at intervals. Never knew about teleophobia… I think I am simply disorganised though. Love the moth, I never realised how many of them have such rich fur coats. I am noticing more around the garden now, thanks to you.

  11. The title of your blog (clearly chosen deliberately) reminded me how much I love the song — it’s been running around and around in my head since last night, though, so perhaps I’m not all that grateful …

  12. A beautiful moth and I’m glad that one was not caught by the wasps. You are fortunate to have received some rain. It’s very dry here and I spend lots of time dragging hoses around.

    The rabbit and pigeon know a nice secluded place even in the rain Nothing shows its head here when it’s raining.

  13. Although I was planning on getting out and making a few images this morning, I am happy to hear the rain falling and will enjoy that for the few hours we are to receive it. Lately the rain passes us to the north or south but few direct hits. Maybe the streams will recharge.

    WP got very wonky on me this past week. It kept signing me out and would not display my Gravatar. Seems straightened out now. I have always opted for the email notifications. Most of the blogs are fully readable in my emails with images included. A few, such as yours for some reason, do not contain the images. And some are easier to read in the emails than the actual blogs based on format choices of the blogger.

    The True Lovers Knot is a very beautiful moth, Andrew. We have similarly decorated here but not that species. Nice example.

    • I used to use the e mail reader Steve but it flooded my mail box so I went back to Reader. It is ok on the browser but the mobile app is not stable.

      More welcome rain today and the green is getting greener.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

