The 350 Club

Some of this may be familiar to regular All Downhill readers but it keeps my Moths etc account ticking over.

Moths etc.

Paraswammerdamia nebulella carries the flag as number 350 on my garden moth list. The micros stand at 138.

The pace has dropped even as the temperature has risen. Mostly this has been down to the problem of wasps overwhelming the traps. We had a total of 3 nests in the garden and each has been dealt with. Some semblance of normality has returned. For several weeks normal was hundreds of dozy or agitated (depending on the temperature) wasps devastating the traps. I found one beautiful fresh male Ghost Moth, Hepialus humuli humuli, minus head and legs. The long process of metamorphosis, multiple instars, all to be decapitated by a Vespa vulgaris on your first outing. Rather sad.

The suggested target of 1,000 seems wildly optimistic to me although perhaps over a decade I might approach that number if I succeed in identifying each micro. So far I have tackled…

View original post 488 more words

5 thoughts on “The 350 Club

  1. I learn something new just about each time I read one of your garden reports. I’ve not studied moths or wasps and had no idea that wasps eat moths. But common sense should have told me that wasps are predatory carnivores. Sad indeed to find the lovely moths without a head.

    A rose garden sounds divine. That is something that will give you immense satisfaction. I surely hope that you can obtain roses that are mostly disease resistant especially to black spot which of course is a fungal disease. When black spot hit my small assembly of roses many years ago, I resorted to letting the roses go. I had no intention of spraying for any kind of insect or disease. The antique roses are hardier and don’t require much management other than good light and excellent air movement around the roses.

    I never went back to roses, for the general landscape of my wild yard, was no longer conducive for a healthy rose.

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

