Colour Burano and Murano

You only go to Burano for one thing. Colour. Vibrant, in your face, over the top, drop dead gorgeous colour.

It is, I imagine, hard to take something new. I claim no prizes. Here we go on the colour burst.Colour1

Colour2

colour3

colour4

colour5

Colour6

colour7

colour8

 

We did try to capture other things so here are the left-overs after the colour frenzy. Everyone together now – SNAP!cheese

You can’t go to Murano without seeing the glass blowing.glassjpg And I can’t go a day without black & white.silhouetteI have so many images I have to go through them again. Sorry, no gondolas again….. What? No gondolas in Venice? Well I saw a clue yesterday that there may be one left somewhere.Gondoliers hatjpg

 

 

29 thoughts on “Colour Burano and Murano

  1. Intrigued by your beautiful photographs, I checked out Burano on Google since I’d not heard of it before. What a wonderfully, colourful place. The weather looks good too 🙂

  2. Makes me pine for Mexico – similarly colourful. Stunning imagoes Andrew. That reflection image would make a wonderful header for a blog I know about about…

  3. Andrew, you could publish a book titled COLOUR ~ BURANO AND MURANO, and I would be your first buyer. These brilliant, vivid photographs are energizing and inspiring. The top photo alone was enthralling.
    In a village in Mexico there was an entire little line of one-room homes. Each seemed to have an invisible line drawn where one ended and the next began, and it was as if each person tried to paint his/hers a brighter color. The effect was staggering, with a single big pot of bright flowers placed on the “line” between each color.

  4. The colour is blissful here, though what I love about Venice is the endless variations on grey and soft green. On the whole I find Venice very quiet on the eye. Re Gondolas. I have been to Venice many times, I cannot remember ever taking a Gondola trip… perhaps once with my mother when I was 14? I’m not even sure of that. But my personal favourite photo is of a very fed up Gondolier in a rain cape.

    • No sign of rain, Hilary but perhaps I can borrow a hose to recreate the effect. I’m finding the tourists rather wearing. I of course am not a tourist but an itinerant photographer.

  5. Glorious color! Very therapeutic for someone living here in Chicago (aka: Land of Beige), entering autumn. Delicious. And fun to see what you did with it, like the upside down reflections. And I especially like the one looking through the relatively cool tunnel, to the sun-splashed colors beyond.

    • I don’t know Chicago but my godson is working there for Aldi. He seems to like it. I only remember when the Bears were the best football team around. Did they play in beige?

I'd be delighted to hear what you think

